Skip to content

collection fail

June 11, 2010

so it was my complete intention to create a collection, but it just didn’t work out. i don’t know what it was, but the moment i decided to do a collection, it felt like work. inspiration simply walked away and didn’t come back. i do have two new paintings to share with you, so i guess it wasn’t a complete failure. i bet as soon as i post these, i will be inspired to paint more like these ones.

it would be easy for me to feel discouraged that i failed at making a collection. but i really feel like i learned a lot about myself setting out to accomplish this goal. i learned that i work better by not putting restrictions on what i am going to create. i learned that sometimes it is better to go where inspiration leads me. and most of all, i learned to give myself permission to fail. it is ok. and i would rather not get frustrated with my creative process and not create at all. i figured out to follow my creative flow and that i am much happier doing just that. here are the two pieces.

this first one is near and dear to my heart. do you remember me talking about the wedding i was a part of in april? i blogged about it over here. my good friend shannon got married. this painting is actually taken from a picture that her and her husband took before they were married. my friend went through a very long journey to find her husband, so i was overjoyed to paint this special painting just for her. i used dictionary pages in the background again. some of the definitions that are showing are engagement, patient (which is kind of hidden), enrapture and enrich. it is my husband’s absolute favorite. let me tell you, it was like pulling teeth when i sold the original. the boy did not want to part with it. i have a feeling we are going to have more occurrences like that one.

mixed media collage

my feet

the second painting is a little more personal. i found this picture of a couple under an umbrella online. right away i was drawn to the picture and i knew i wanted to paint it, making it my own of course. it reminded me of my relationship with my husband. as i started to think about it more, the umbrella became symbolic of how i feel safe and protected by my husband. you see, we were really good friends before we fell in love. isn’t that the best? but one of the reasons i started to fall in love with the boy was because i always felt safe with him. i remember the day i realized there was more to our relationship. we were out with a big group of people, and i started feeling sick. but i remember how i just felt safer being close to him. i made him walk me to the car, because i felt better around him. and that is how it still is. i feel safe and protected when i am with him. i feel like i am under his umbrella of protection. maybe i just always knew that was where i belonged. i found home for my heart.

mixed media collage

under your umbrella

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 10:06 am

    What a touching post and likewise, the artwork pieces. Thank you for sharing.

  2. June 11, 2010 10:09 am

    I love love love these two paintings. They are both wonderful and meaningful and how neat that your hubby didn’t want you to sell that original!!
    BTW, I can’t get your button to work, it seems to be only a link to your site. We need the code beneath it to be able to grab it…. I just recently struggled with that myself…

  3. June 13, 2010 2:47 am

    I wouldn’t call it a fail… I think you’re right. A piece of art tends to take on a life of it’s own. Glad to see your ‘failure’ has become a revelation.

  4. June 14, 2010 11:20 am

    I wouldn’t call it a fail, either. I work in a similar fashion – pretty much everything I do relates to each other. I know that I could be thinking of grouping things together, but it doesn’t always work that way for me. And that’s okay!

Trackbacks

  1. i am not a quitter « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

