Skip to content

look i made the local paper!

June 10, 2010

Monument Art Hop

look i made the local paper! i am actually an artist and i am putting my art out there into the great big world for all to see. ok, so it is not the best picture but here i am with my mother at my very first art hop. i posted pictures from the whole event over here. the monument paper had this to say, “Also at Covered Treasures were daughter and mother artists Wendy Brightbill and Donna McFarland. Brightbill displayed a variety of her collages, while McFarland of Bear Creek Studios, displayed her watercolor and acrylic paintings.” i know it’s not much, but it’s still exciting for me. somehow it just makes my business feel more official. like i am not just playing pretend anymore. this night was truly a huge confirmation to me. it was so nice to meet other people, not just my family and friends, who enjoyed my art and thought it was beautiful. sometimes you just need to hear it from a complete stranger. i don’t know if you can tell, but we are the ones on the very bottom. here is a better picture of us.

monument art hop

it was fun to be there with my mother. i inherited all of my talent from her. it just seemed appropriate to share this night with my mom since she has been so instrumental in my artistic endeavors. she has helped me with so many things from getting me into shows, to making cards, to printing business cards. thanks mom for being such a huge support to me!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kymberly Williams permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:11 am

    How exciting Wendy!! You are doing awesome!!

  2. June 10, 2010 10:44 am

    That’s awesome, Wendy!! Any press is good press!!

  3. June 10, 2010 11:44 am

    thanks kymber and brandi!

  4. julie permalink
    June 12, 2010 2:12 pm

    ok…i have to scold you! don’t ever say “i know it’s not much but…” again! putting your art out there is a major, major step. it’s when you say to yourself that you’re good enough to be with other artists…it’s a huge moment! Your work is so much fun to look at and i really love your latest. thanks for sharing it!

  5. June 20, 2010 1:54 pm

    Awesome! Man I need a little bit of this. Not necessarily a write up in the local paper, but any acknowledgment would be great. True I haven’t been going at it for years, but you need something just to validate that you’re not wasting your time…know what I mean? I’ll keep fingers crossed for myself and keep shining 0n your success.
    be well Wendy…
    Kanisha

Leave a Reply

