Skip to content

journal challenge day 155

March 23, 2012

i really enjoy cardboard as a medium to paint on. i like the texture. but i also love that i can turn something ordinary into a piece of art. i love finding ordinary objects and making it into something beautiful. isn’t that what life is all about!!! my husband once collected boxes so they are always in no shortage in my house. i love the raw look. it makes a simple message even more simple and beautiful. i love the look of stitching on cardboard. the stitching provides another element of texture. stitching + cardboard = bliss. at least for me. i usually string a whole bunch of pieces of cardboard into a book, but i think that i might offer them for sale for just a bit. so if you want to purchase an original (journal page) on cardboard, just send me a line. i know it’s not conventional, but that is what i love about it. i mean who has an original painting on a piece of cardboard?

journal entry: be courageous. tell the story of who you are with your entire soul.

materials used: cardboard, acrylic paint, gesso, white acrylic ink, doily, painted paper, watercolors, shiva paintstiks, printed words, stitching.

art journal challenge

day 155

if you are interested in buying yesterday’s page, check it out here.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 4:42 am

    Good morning, Wendy

    I love your use of stitching. That was one of the first things I saw when I found your site–must have been when looking at posts in the WordPress art tag.

    Your thoughts about transforming the ordinary into art is my belief about poetry as well. Having had a chronic illness, every day is a gift. Well now.

    I placed the print I bought from you in an old frame, and it seems just right. Brightens every day.

  2. March 24, 2012 11:24 am

    It’s true… anything but paper will make for an interesting medium. I’m hosting a link up party tomorrow called ‘Sunday School’ … it’s for crafters, photographers, artists like yourself to show off your work and maybe give us a few hints and tips about HOW. Maybe it’s something you would like to link up too. I know I LOVE seeing your talent.
    Jennie. x
    ww.snapdragonshots.com

  3. March 25, 2012 4:27 am

    wendy.
    i love this,
    with all my soul.
    xox

  4. March 30, 2012 10:58 pm

    I cannot express enough how much I enjoy your work. I find myself emailing each of your daily posts to my friends and family. I have to remember to embody the sentiment above.

Leave a Reply

