Skip to content

on vulnerability

March 23, 2012
wendy brightbill

self portrait

i have decided to start doing more self portraits. i don’t like them because they require a certain amount of vulnerability on my part.

being vulnerable. it’s never easy is it?

it makes us squirm and move just a little bit more than usual. uncomfortable.

in order to be vulnerable we have to first tell the truth. to our loved ones. our family. our friends. but to ourself first.

sometimes the truth hurts doesn’t it? so we want to run and hide. bury our heads in the sand. take a cue from alexander and move to australia. i had my share of no good very bad days for about seven years.

i spent this time running from the truth in my life. trust me, it doesn’t solve a single darn thing. if it did, you and i could move to australia together.

sometimes we just need to speak the truth about what is really going on in our hearts and lives. it really is the first step to finding wholeness.

why do we run so hard away from dealing with the truth and the pain in our own hearts? i believe it all comes down to shame. oh no, i feel like i used a bad word.

we are so bound in shame and fearful that there is some big huge thing wrong with us.

no one could ever love me if only they knew the truth. i am not enough.

isn’t that what we are all afraid of?

being vulnerable is letting others see our true selves. having courage is the ability to tell the story of who you are with your whole heart. it’s only out of this place that we can truly find real freedom and healing.

i am feeling called to be even more vulnerable in my life and my business. and it’s not easy putting my heart out there. but i know it will be so worth it.

stay tuned… i will be making a big vulnerable announcement on sunday.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2012 4:57 pm

    So very true and yes it can be so very hard. You have probably heard of Brene Brown and her work on shame and vulnerability. When I found out about her work and about the way shame can keep us from becoming the person God created us to be, I felt such a sense of relief that a conversation was opening up about it, but for me it is a matter of taking it from my head to my heart and actually speaking the truth about the shame that I have lived with for so very long. I look forward to reading your announcement.

    • March 23, 2012 5:05 pm

      yes! brene brown was part of my inspiration for this post. her message really rings true for me. thank you christina!!!!

  2. intuitiveone permalink
    March 23, 2012 5:55 pm

    I feel like you were writing that post for me. I’m feeling vulnerable.

  3. March 23, 2012 7:33 pm

    Beautiful post, and so very true.

Trackbacks

  1. becoming workshop « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

