Skip to content

growth spurt

April 13, 2011

“great hearts can only be made by great troubles.” – c.h. spurgeon

mixed media paintings

original painting by me

i feel like i am going through a bit of a growth spurt. i just finished up working on nine new paintings this weekend, this being one of them. i am going to need to order some more canvases because i have painted on all of the ones i had. i really took my time with these paintings and if i didn’t like something, i just kept changing things around. each one has a bit of stripes and stitching in it.

and somehow i feel like i found my second wind to work on the videos for my e-course. i decided to start all over because i wasn’t happy with the quality of the earlier videos. i am kind of annoyed that i needed to start over, but at least i know that i will be happy with the end result.

there probably won’t be a video tomorrow because i will be busy working on videos for the e-course.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian Rubadue permalink
    April 13, 2011 9:26 am

    So, I am often impressed with your paintings (to start 🙂
    Not being much of an artist I am fascinated how you have so many elements and they do not necessarily overlap each other. Not that it is the same thing, but I am curious if you have ever tried digital art??

    Hope all is well with you and your family!
    Have a blessed day!
    Brian

    • April 13, 2011 9:36 am

      thanks for stopping by brian! i have briefly attempted some digital art. my husband bought me a digital drawing pad for christmas. but i have had a hard time really getting into it because the paint and paper is really therapeutic. i might get into it more some day. i think i might actually like a combination of digital and canvas. who knows?

  2. April 13, 2011 12:35 pm

    Wow… love it! Great art piece.
    9 pieces completed over the weekend. Yes… you are on a roll.
    Thank you for sharing your art, always a pleasure :]
    Question… what is a digital drawing pad? Does this hook up to your MAC via USB cord?
    Please let me know.

    • April 13, 2011 12:45 pm

      well the paintings were already started, i just didn’t finish until this weekend. lol! the drawing pad thing hooks up to my mac and it is like a big mouse with a pen attached. my problem is that you have to use it with photoshop or illustrator and i am not completely skilled in those programs. but they are really fun to play around with. here is the kind that i have: http://www.wacom.com/bamboo/bamboo_pen_touch.php

  3. joanne permalink
    April 13, 2011 2:44 pm

    It sounds like you have been very busy.Love that picture.

  4. April 14, 2011 6:16 am

    that painting is POWERFUl!! made me tear up just reading it bec you can’t write something like that UNLESS, you have experienced that! If you ever sell it in a postcard size or 5×7 print lmk!

    • April 14, 2011 8:53 am

      thanks emily! it really is true. i am so glad that my painting touched your heart. i will probably start selling the image in a card, once i get everything up on etsy.

  5. April 14, 2011 7:08 am

    Love this collage. It reminds me of one of a quote I once read: “Only under great pressure do diamonds form.”

    It’s funny…I go through periods of hyper-productivity with my art, as well. Lately I’ve been creating 1-2 journal pages per day, which is not like me, esp. considering I didn’t touch my journal for several months! I don’t know exactly how to describe it, but it’s very similar to when I played college tennis and was “in the zone” during a match…you lose track of time and are hyper-focused on creating.

    • April 14, 2011 8:55 am

      it is so true. that is why i like the quote before the painting. great hearts can only be made by great troubles. – c.h. spurgeon

Leave a Reply

