Skip to content

waiting

April 12, 2011

waiting

do you ever just want to get where you are going? i have been struggling with this lately, a little bit of impatience. the waiting can be brutal. i am surrounded by expectation. i know that there are great things right around the corner. and i feel like a little girl wiggling in her chair being forced to sit still sometimes.

things are slow when you are an artist. you spend a lot of time waiting. it is just the name of the game. even if you do get some sort of contract (and i haven’t yet), you have to wait months for it to happen.

i am learning that there is a flow. that i can lean into the flow. to not rush things, because there is a time for everything. i need to be careful not to get ahead of myself. i need to be faithful in the moment that i have right now. when the time is right, the puzzle pieces will fall into place.

sometimes you have to let ideas and passions marinate for a while.

and i am learning to appreciate every step of my journey. to truly celebrate every success. to savor the experience of it all. to really stop and breathe. and wait for the right timing. because there are lessons in the waiting.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 9:02 am

    I hear what you are saying, Wendy!
    I use to be only a “goal setter” – everything was about setting the goal and achieving the goal. Then I learned more about the spiritual side of things “let it go”. I learned to combine the 2 – set my goal, do everything within my power to accomplish the goal, then let it go. If it is meant to be it will be, in it’s own time.
    I do have a question, what is suppose to happen in August 2011? (your calendar)

    Keep Smiling!

  2. April 12, 2011 9:39 am

    I can definitely relate to your feelings of impatience. As you know, I’ve written a lot about that on my blog, too! I’m currently on pins and needles, waiting to find out if one of my pieces will be accepted for publication in a magazine, and the editorial staff will be meeting in early May; I’ve been waiting eagerly (and yet fearfully, in some ways), since I sent the item to them back in January. I’m also waiting to find out what my future holds in terms of my career, especially now that our state has cut the budget for public-sector organizations. The not knowing is the hardest part for me to accept sometimes.

    As I’ve said many times in the past, I’m overjoyed to have met someone who is experiencing some of the same things I am. Thanks again for sharing these pieces of yourself!

  3. April 12, 2011 11:36 am

    Oh yes… the waiting! This is where the real magic happen, I think.
    You learn a lot about who you are, what you want, what you are capable of , and how far you are willing to go the distance.
    You can turn the “waiting” into “growing” :]

  4. April 12, 2011 5:45 pm

    I hear ya girl!!! You took the words out of my mouth. Truly.

Leave a Reply

