Skip to content

how a car accident changed my thinking

August 11, 2010

mixed media collage

there are many challenges that come with having a brain injury. it’s more than just forgetting where you put your keys, it’s forgetting appointments and whole conversations. it’s not being able to talk on the phone while listening to music. it’s not being able to focus at times. but i have already talked a lot about the challenges of having a brain injury. and there are days that i wish my brain would focus normal again. but there are some unexpected blessings from having a brain injury.

in all honesty, i don’t believe i would be so creative if it were not for my brain injury. you see, i used to be left brained and i think i am still to a certain extent. but, i would not be able to use the more creative parts of my brain if it were not for my brain injury. don’t get me wrong, i have always been creative. but my creativity was limited to meticulous drawings and precise paintings. i most certainly would not be making messes with matte medium and paint.

after my car accident, i used to get frustrated when i couldn’t put all of the details in order. and i still do. but, now i thoroughly enjoy using the right side of my brain more. and i have learned to embrace the messy, creative side of life. in fact, my creativity has blossomed. and i don’t think i would be able to do the things i am doing now, if it were not for my brain injury. i feel like i am more myself now too.

so in these ways, i am actually thankful for my brain injury. i am learning more and more that i am ok just the way i am. that in lots of ways, my life is better now. i am so happy to be living this creative life!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 2:38 pm

    Love your positive attitude. I think having a positive attitude when life throws us for big loops is at the heart of true creative living! many blessings and lots of love + light
    All My Best,
    Stephey

  2. August 12, 2010 6:33 am

    Your work is so creative, colourful, and just beautiful that I would never have guessed that you’ve had a brain injury. Thanks for sharing this, it’s interesting to know what experiences and challenges people are coming from.

    • August 12, 2010 8:01 am

      thanks laura! my brain injury is what has made me who i am today. it is amazing how experiences shape us into who we are.

  3. August 13, 2010 3:48 am

    What an inspiring, positive outlook you have, Wendy! And a reminder to everyone to embrace the messy “imperfect side of life and creativity. Thank you for sharing your experience and wisdom. Warm wishes!

  4. August 15, 2010 11:59 am

    Thanks for sharing your story.

    I worked for six years (as a volunteer, instructor and manager) of an art center for people with amazing abilities called Creative Growth Art Center in Oakland, CA.
    http://creativegrowth.org/

    Here are two links that have inspired me lately:

    Pictures
    http://weburbanist.com/2009/07/12/stroke-of-genius-abilities-borne-of-brain-damage/

    Words
    http://www.neuroaesthetics.com/

Trackbacks

  1. mission accomplished « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

