Skip to content

mission accomplished

February 21, 2011
mission statement

looking back on this year

week 47 of 52 weeks; did you fulfill your mission? i can’t believe that i am almost finished with 52 weeks of blogging your passion. it is time to revisit my mission statement. wow, this feels like forever ago! i can see how much my blog and my business has grown in one short year. it really is fun to see!

here is the mission statement i wrote 47 weeks ago.

a girl and her brush is a blog dedicated to inspiring others to hope, dream, believe and create, as i document my own personal creative journey. on this amazing new journey, i am continually looking for inspiration through color, pattern and texture to create multi-media collage pieces with a playful spirit. i am committed to creating high quality, one of a kind, happy pieces to brighten up your home and life.

writing this mission statement was an important process for me to go through. it gave me direction and focus when i was starting out. but in some ways, i feel like i have outgrown this mission statement. i am so much closer to finding my little corner of the internet and defining my niche.

if i were to rewrite my mission, i think it would be more focused now. maybe i will start working on a new mission statement for another post.

if i could sum up this year in one phrase, it would be telling my story. and that is what i did. when i look at this year in posts, there are a few that stand out among the others as being milestones. these posts are the beginning of finding my voice and sharing my heart and life with all of you.

being in a car accident has taught me some valuable lessons. don’t sweat the small stuff. don’t be so hard on myself. cleaning is highly overrated.

i made a choice to not be a victim anymore. i let go of fear so i could move on with my life.

i am not perfect. i never will be. being a paint from home mom is not easy. there are moments when i think i must be crazy. i often stay in my paint stained pajamas until noon and my laundry is severely neglected. but i wouldn’t trade it for anything.

recovering from a brain injury is not always fun. i have bad days. when things get really bad i have to see my brain therapist.

but if it weren’t for my car accident, i know i wouldn’t be here living this creative life. my brain injury has led me to use my right brain more often and become more creative. and i wouldn’t have this amazing opportunity if i hadn’t shared my story. for that, i am truly thankful.

thanks for reading my blog and for supporting me on this journey. i couldn’t have done it without all of your love and support friends!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 11:03 am

    Friend, it’s amazing! You’re almost done!

  2. joanne permalink
    February 21, 2011 1:22 pm

    I’m so happy for you to have come this far.Congratulations!I love reading your blog and getting to know you a little each day.

Leave a Reply

