Skip to content

painting through sorrow

May 7, 2010

mixed media collage painting

your story

tara gentile‘s class, between the lines class started this week. i haven’t been stretched like this in a very long time. my brain hurts from thinking and writing, then thinking and writing some more. it’s exhausting, but in a good way. and i love the fact that i am becoming more brave to tell my story. it’s therapeutic really! voicing my story brings validation. people want to hear my story? really? when you have walked through heartache, brain trauma, injustice and grief, being able to share your journey is, well, empowering and healing. in the end, if i can bring hope to one person, inspire someone to pick up a paintbrush or start their own creative journey… it will all be worth it. we all have sorrows. we all have difficulties, grief, heartache, and pain. it’s what we do when we experience those things.

one of our assignments this week was to revamp our about stories. i wanted to share a blurb from my new about story…

life has not always been joy and inspiration for me. six years ago, my life was turned upside down by a car accident. i found myself with a broken brain, a victim mentality, and a sick heart. i had lost my joy in living. i would cry at the drop of the hat and found myself often wondering why i couldn’t accomplish the simplest of tasks like making a phone call. the journey back to life has been a long and difficult road. the one thing that brought me out of my despair is painting. painting soon became my gift from god, my therapy, my life line. it was if i painted my way through the depression by creating the life on canvas that i truly wanted to live. the more i painted joyful and colorful paintings, the more i experienced joy and color in my own life. and i am now here to say, that there is life after a car accident.  i am a testimony to god’s redemption and goodness and that you can paint the life you want to live.

so that is my story, in a nutshell… thanks for listening! it’s another layer of healing being able to tell my story. what story do you need to tell? it’s probably the one you can’t talk about without getting choked up, the one that seems too personal to share. that’s the one you need to tell.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 11:44 pm

    So good and so important! Thank you for sharing and being vulnerable. Your story is amazing!!

    • May 10, 2010 6:31 am

      thanks jana for all of your encouragement! i think your story is also one of great importance. i can’t wait to hear more!

  2. September 3, 2015 10:43 am

    Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

