Skip to content

a beautiful thing

July 15, 2011

altered books

a beautiful thing happened to me yesterday. i truly have felt like a chicken running around with my head cut off lately. getting ready for my show and starting up teaching again has me, well, trying not to get so stressed. i even had to take the day off on wednesday because my body was shutting down. i had a major stress migraine and just felt miserable.

i have a forever long to do list right now. or so it seems. and not enough time to do it all. i am sure you can relate. so imagine my surprise when my husband’s assistant came to me yesterday to tell me that she had finished all of the work for him and wanted to know if i had anything for her to do. say what?!

what a blessing! i had just thought to myself a few days earlier that i could really use a personal assistant. someone to do all the time consuming things that i just can’t get to right now.

so i quickly put her to work boxing up journals and paintings to send off for publication. what a joy that i didn’t have to do it myself! i felt like a weight had been lifted off me. just knowing that i didn’t have to do the mundane tasks that weigh me down made me feel a thousand pounds lighter. i couldn’t believe it.

my husband and i have been discussing how we were going to have her start working for me sometime in the future, i just didn’t think it would be this soon.

and i realized how valuable it is to delegate tasks to other people instead of trying to do it all on your own. because let’s face it, i really don’t want to package up paintings. it drains me of energy just simply thinking about it.

i am sure there will be a big transition time before i can start paying an assistant to work for me even part time. but now i totally see the value in paying someone else to work for you and not trying to do it all yourself.

it is a beautiful thing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 9:30 am

    that is great wendy. i am sure it would a wonderful thing… any kind of help. maybe you could even bring in a college student to do an internship type thing. no pay but lots of learning?

  2. joanne permalink
    July 16, 2011 2:42 am

    How good that must feel to get some help,even just for a small amount of time.Take care, Joanne.

  3. July 18, 2011 7:59 pm

    What a great opportunity! You will be able to spend more time creating and less time with the logistics!

Leave a Reply

