Skip to content

kick fear to the curb

June 1, 2010

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous ? Actually, who are you not to be ? Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we’re liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Marianne Williamson

i love this quote. i think it speaks the truth that lies in each of our hearts. if we are powerful beyond measure, if we are amazing then why are we still in this place? why are we still struggling? because we are too afraid to face who we were created to be. we become small on purpose and don’t step into all that god has for us. why? because it is easier. because we don’t want to step on anyone’s toes. because it forces the people around you to evaluate their own greatness. stepping into our potential and really living there is not the popular thing to do. who am i to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? well i am created that way. period. end of story.

mixed media collage painting fear

let go of fear

i have been mulling over my fears lately. what is holding me back? in all honesty, i don’t feel like i am ready. but will i ever feel ready? no one will want my art because i am just starting out. but everyone starts some where right? so i am ready to be done with fear. so why all of the talk about fear today? i am taking kelly rae robert’s class flying lessons. kelly and her story has been such an inspiration to me. if she can do it, so can i. i find strength in knowing that. so kelly has been talking about facing our fears, speaking them out and acknowledging them, then acting in spite of them. so i am going to share a list of my fears with you then counter them with the truth. i am kicking my fears to the curb, care to join me? so here goes:

fears

no one will want to buy my art people will want to buy my art because it is amazing

i will not be able to handle the business side of things i am well equipped to run my business

my art is not good enough my art is amazing, beautiful and unique

i am a horrible writer i am a gifted writer

my story is not important my story matters

no one will want to listen to what i have to say i must tell my story because there are people out there who need to hear it

i don’t have anything valuable to teach others i have a wealth of knowledge that other people want to learn

i won’t ever make any money selling my art i am a successful artist

i am just a fraud i am an authentic, genuine artist

i will let people down hmmm, this one is true, i will let people down, but it is not my job to be all things to all people

my art is not original enough my art is unique and original

i am not strong enough to follow my dreams i am strong and courageous to follow my dreams

i am not ready everything in my life has prepared me for this moment

what fears do you need to kick to the curb? i hope you are encouraged to do the same

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 10:47 am

    I share so many of those fears with you. And it’s funny, because it seems that once you get up the gumption to go for it with you art biz, then you have to face the frightful world of blogging, writing, and business.
    I’m glad you are crossing those fears off the list and rewriting them.

  2. Kiersta permalink
    June 1, 2010 11:36 am

    I think the last one is what I will kick to the curb with you today. Thank you for being transparent, because it encouraged me where I needed it today.

  3. June 1, 2010 12:18 pm

    I love this! Way to turn the negative into the positive.

  4. June 1, 2010 12:44 pm

    great post, wendy. it reminds me of john eldredge’s words about “agreements” we have made…so many of which we may not even realize we have spoken repeatedly to ourselves. God has so much more life and hope for us and wants to break those agreements which were never His idea.

  5. June 1, 2010 2:54 pm

    Excellent post my dear. Very inspiring. And you’re right, your art IS amazing!! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

