Skip to content

overcoming obstacles

March 29, 2010

today is week 3 in 52 weeks of blogging your passion. the prompt this week asks us to describe an obstacle we have faced as an artist and how we overcame that obstacle.

right now i feel like my business is nothing but continually overcoming obstacles. there are so many, i don’t know where to start. i could share about how i hate shipping and get stressed out every time i have to ship something. lol! i could tell you about how my art was taking over my dining room table until i finally carved a space for my studio in a little corner of my dining room. maybe i could share with you about how i struggled to come up with a detailed description of my ideal customer. starting a creative business is nothing but obstacles, and you can either get discouraged and give up, or you can face them head on and figure out a way around them.

so after considering all of my options, i decided that i would talk to you about the obstacle of impatience. impatience is a funny thing. it makes you leap before you are ready. it makes you want your business 5 steps ahead of where it is right now. and it sets you up for falling flat on your butt. this week i gave myself permission to be ok with where i am at right now! right now i am on a learning curve. my shop doesn’t have to be perfect. it’s ok to just stop and breathe. in fact, it is more important for me to define myself as an artist. and it’s ok that i don’t have that all figured out… because this is a journey, it’s my creative journey. as a bonafied perfectionist, trust me this is not an easy thing to do.

on any given day, i have about one hundred plus things going through my head on what to do next and how to promote my business. i find myself dreaming and thinking and scheming about what i want to do. it never stops. and i love it. i love having a dream and a purpose again. but it can get overwhelming at times. what do i do next and where do i go from here? i am inspired all the time. so i have decided to pull out my journal. every time i have one of those thoughts, i try to jot it down. this way i won’t lose my ideas. and this has helped me tremendously. i feel like i am slowing mapping out a plan for my business. and it is a good thing for me to really stop and brainstorm before i rush in.

so i am overcoming my impatience with stopping to breathe… and defining myself as an artist… and setting goals for my business… and really thinking through how i am going to accomplish these goals. it feels good. i might have to remind myself on a daily basis to be happy where i am right now, but i am excited about where my business in going. i can’t see it yet in the natural, but i know there are amazing things right around the corner. and it is ok for me to be in the place i am right now. it’s ok.

how have you dealt with impatience?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 7:05 am

    this is good.
    i like your style

  2. March 29, 2010 8:24 am

    It is soooo okay! Patience is one thing that we learn throughout life. It’s not a given we already know how to deal with it. Your impatience is normal. Your passion is engaging. Your talent is a gift, my friend.

    • March 29, 2010 8:38 am

      awww! thanks so much deb…. i so appreciate it. it is comments like these that keep me going and excited to be venturing out on this journey.

  3. March 29, 2010 9:33 am

    what inspiring words! stopping and breathing…i think i need to take some of your advice. i too tend to get way ahead of myself with where i think my shop ‘should be’ or ‘could be’ and it seems like it hinders my progress, suprisingly. thanks for the words of encouragement, its nice to know that we aren’t alone in the things we are going through.

    thanks for the sweet comment on my blog, i was timid about putting my age in there because of what some people might think, but then i thought, ‘but it’s such a part of me and who i am’ so i included. thanks again.

    -jessica

    • March 29, 2010 9:59 am

      you are very welcome jessica! i am impressed by your age because i was no where close to doing what you are doing when i was your age. don’t be intimidated because of your age.

  4. March 29, 2010 1:29 pm

    Impatience is like that little devil that sits on my shoulder, encouraging me to give in constantly. Thankfully, I understand it’s tactics and can successfully tune it out on occasion (sneaky devil).

    I totally get the desire to make your shop better, to do more, to create more. Everything is shiny and new, and every opportunity or idea that comes your way is exciting. But I think the way you’re approaching things is a good way to go. There is no danger in staying as small as possible for as long as possible so you can define and figure out what your business is. Better to take time to have that worked out, than to jump in unprepared. That’s smart, my friend.

    • March 29, 2010 3:12 pm

      thanks for all of your encouragement and words of wisdom from a more experienced etsian! i really appreciate everything that you have helped me with brandi. you are amazing!

  5. March 29, 2010 2:56 pm

    Thanks for putting all this into words. I’m sure we all feel this way at one point or another. You’re on the right path…just keep pressing forward, doing what you can, one step at a time. Try not to get overwhelmed and remember why you’re doing this in the first place 😉 I tend to forget that when I get stressed!! xo

  6. March 29, 2010 9:59 pm

    Lovin’ your blogs each week!

  7. May 23, 2010 11:03 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian

Leave a Reply

