Skip to content

first etsy purchase

March 30, 2010
vintage paper

my beautiful package

this week i made my very first etsy purchase. it was a wonderful experience i would highly recommend to all. if you have never purchased from etsy, you should really consider doing so. i bought some lovely vintage dictionary paper for my collages from the Scrap Shoppe. the Scrap Shoppe is a great place to find a lovely assortment of vintage paper and scrapbooking goodies. if you are a multi-media collage artist like me, this shop is an absolute dream. i told dianna what i was looking for and she was more than happy to put together a custom order just for me. thanks dianna!

vintage dictionary paper

special order for wendy

this is the vintage paper i ordered. i was giddy with excitement when my package arrived in the mail. i was already making collages in my imagination. my paper came wrapped in tissue paper with a lovely little note. it felt like i was getting a gift from a friend. yay! i love getting gifts.

vintage dictionary paper

vintage dictionary paper

i just love the look of this vintage paper… it might not last me very long because i have already been hard at work using it in my paintings. here is my first painting using this paper.

vintage bird

vintage bird

what do you think? i really liked the way it turned it out. i was going for a vintage shabby chic kind of look.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 7:11 am

    Thank you so much Wendy! Im so happy that you love the papers! The painting is fabulous!! not surprising since all your work is wonderful 🙂 xoxo

  2. Cara permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:47 am

    This is very cool–I’m wondering, are you planning the words on the dictionary paper to coordinate in some way with the theme of the painting?

  3. March 30, 2010 11:07 am

    OOh, pretty!! And I want to ask the same question as Cara.

    • March 30, 2010 12:24 pm

      cara and brandi, no the dictionary pages have no special meanings on them. i just arranged them by how i thought they looked the best. it would be fun to do a painting that way though. maybe the next time i will look for inspiration in the words. 🙂

  4. March 31, 2010 8:44 am

    I loved the finished piece. As an Etsy seller, I am glad that you had a very positive experience for your first purchase. I hope that all of your experiences are positive. Keep creating beautiful work:)

Leave a Reply

