Skip to content

Keep Showing Up!!!

July 16, 2016

These past few days I have been going back and forth between excitement/ giddiness to absolutely freaking out!!! My class with Jeanne Oliver begins on Monday. It’s been so much hard work and soul work and second guessing myself and starting over. It truly has been a walk of faith putting this class together. When I first started preparing for this class, I felt absolutely frozen. I had to stop listening to my perfectionism, which is really just fear. It’s not like one day I woke up and the fear was gone. I just learned how to tune it out and show up anyway. And I feel like that is one of the biggest things I have learned throughout my creative journey, keep showing up anyways. filmlogo_zpsf1mbo5fm7

I was talking to Jeanne on the phone this week… (by the way, can I just say that Jeanne is one of the most gracious people to work with. I feel so honored!!! She is the real deal people.)  And we were talking about life and creative businesses and staying grounded (ALL the good stuff). It was such a great conversation. But I was telling her how I felt like something had shifted in my business in the last six months or so, like all of the sudden, all of these opportunities started coming out of no where. I have even noticed a difference in my work. And Jeanne said something that really struck me. She basically said to me that it was because I just kept doing the work and showing up, that now I was finally seeing the fruit of all of those years of work I had put into my creative business. I never gave up and I continued to show up. Sometimes I feel like my creative journey has been all over the place like a traveling circus, complete with taming lions and a high wire act. But I kept at it. I kept showing up, even when things got hard. I put in the hours, one day at a time.

abstractfloralprocess

You always hear about those people who are an “overnight success” in the creative world. (Overnight=ten years). You know the ones! Except that you don’t see all of the hours that they put into their creative craft. You don’t see all of the sweat and the tears and the sleepless nights and the hours upon hours that they have put in. So it might have physically only taken me four months to put together this class, but really it’s been years in the making.

Today I am so grateful for this creative life. And yeah, it’s pretty amazing to see all of these doors opening in my creative business. But it’s still my daily practice that makes my heart go flutter. And I am so very blessed that I get to share my process through teaching art! It’s the best gig ever!!!

Jeanne put together this stunning video for my class. Check it out! And if you are still on the fence about taking this class, I really hope you will join us. Go here to register. And no matter what, keep showing up.

 

Letting Go: An Exploration of Abstract Painting from Revilo Designs on Vimeo.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 17, 2016 1:38 am

    I follow you on instagramand adore your art. One can tell you work hard and produce A Lot of awesome work! You go girl!

Leave a Reply

