Skip to content

For the Love of Pompoms

July 27, 2015

When I was five I remember standing in the fabric store mesmerized by all the colors of thread. It felt like a whole new world opened up to me. Seeing all those beautiful colors next to each other was just pure magic. So I did the most rational thing possible. Picked out my very favorite colors and stuck them deep into my pockets. Most five year olds shoplift candy or toys. But not me. I go for thread. I am hardcore. I don’t think we got far before my mom realized what I had done and I had to return them to the store.

pompoms3

So this week I decided I was going to make a pompom garland. My mom gave me her stash of yarn. But my heart was longing for some bright happy colors. So off I ventured to the fabric store, thinking I would only buy one or two new colors.

pompoms2

For the love of pompoms people, why has no one ever warned me about the yarn section at the fabric store? I was instantly five years old again. I wanted every single darn shade. I can’t even tell you how happy it made my little heart. Oh how I love color!

pompoms

Now I never want to leave this happy little corner of my home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2015 4:16 pm

    I want to live in that colorful corner of your home!!!! it’s so bright and cheerful!!! the pom poms are magical!!!
    I need a vase like the white one you have! Hope you don’t mind if I copy/replicate it! It’s such a wonderful idea. 🙂

  2. July 31, 2015 1:12 am

    delightful! I made myself a little (muted colours) pompom garland last year. and I’m coordinating a project in an old age home that includes wool winding and….pompoms. you’ve inspired me even further.

Leave a Reply

