Skip to content

14 Goals for 2014

January 13, 2014
hello beautiful

hello beautiful

Happy New Year Friends!!! I love the newness of this time of the year. As I look back over 2013 and everything that happened, I am so grateful. Eva Hope, my little biscuit, blessed us with her presence this year. I really can’t imagine my life without her. She brings so much happiness and joy to all my little moments. She has helped me really slow down this year, which has been good for me. Having a baby has given me such perspective. I don’t have to be in such a huge hurry to get where I am going. It’s all about the little moments along the way. I can stop waiting to “make it” or be happy.

This year I feel like I really started to comprehend that I am not my failures or my successes. Successes are nice, but they don’t make up who I am as a person. Failures are hard. But they do not define me. I think taking Lilla’s class really helped me to realize this, how to separate myself from my work.

Anyways, onto this year. I am super excited about it. Maybe it’s because I feel like I am finding myself again after surviving the first year of a new baby. I feel like I am finally getting into a groove and routine now. Sleep helps for sure. And I am finding small ways to make creative rituals more a part of my life.

I like to spend some time at the beginning of each year setting goals. I like to dream about what I want my life to look like. How do I want to feel? What do I want to spend my time and energy on? What are my priorities this year? What are some realistic goals for this year? What baby steps do I need to take this year? What risks do I want to take?

So after some thinking, here are 14 goals for 2014. Some of these are not really goals, but maybe perspectives towards living life.

1. Stop looking at other people and what they are doing. Stop comparing myself to other artists. Focus on me and my art. Focus on my journey and what I want my life to look like.

2. Declutter and simplify. I realize that as I want to step more into flow this year, there needs to be less clutter and mess in my life. I need to clear out the old to make room for the new.

3. Start submitting my art to companies for licensing.

4. Make lots of art.

5. Make more art.

6. Stay present and grounded and grateful. See number one.

7. Return to the table. I have been reading the book Bread and Wine and it really has me thinking about how I love food and entertaining. There is magic and connection that happens around the table, that doesn’t happen in other places. I want more of that this year. (Very good read by the way).

studio time

studio time

8. I want more connection this year. I want to walk out of shame and step more into connection. Brene Brown talks a lot about the spectrum of shame (thinking there is something wrong with you) and connecting with other people. Connection with other people is the opposite of shame. When we are honest about our shame story, then we can truly see the lies that are behind it. And when we are vulnerable with each other, then we can truly start to heal.

9. I am done with the drama. You know the energy sucking relationship situations that require all of your crazy obsessing? Or is it just me? I am done with playing those games. If you want vulnerability and connection and honesty and truth, then I am here.

10. Get my design/pattern work published on a design blog like Print and Pattern.

11. Start designing a fun fabric line.

12. Continue to learn and grow in my technical skills as a designer. Become more versed in Illustrator.

13. Stop and listen more. To myself. To my family. To my heart.

14. Get closer to attending Surtex as a designer/artist. Yikes!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2014 6:04 am

    Dear Wendy, Many blessings to you and your family for 2014 and always. I loved receiving your new calendar. I was ill for several days, so your art and thoughtfulness meant even more. Fine now. Ellen

    • January 14, 2014 10:15 am

      I am so glad to hear you are enjoying your calendar Ellen. And happy you are feeling better. Take care!

Leave a Reply

