Skip to content

a little dreaming, butterflies and all around giddiness…

June 30, 2013

selfieeyes

i am feeling a little bit giddy today combined with happy butterflies. i really have been enjoying my creative process lately. i don’t what it is about having a baby that has somehow brought a new level to my work. like everything i have done artistically is coming all together… like the pieces of the puzzle are somehow fitting into place and i can see how they all fit together and are all really connected.

nothing is lost when it comes to your creative expression. it might go to the card catalogue of your brain, but one day you will pull it back out again.

work in progress

work in progress

tomorrow is the beginning of the global talent search. and i am feeling super excited about it. giddy really. full of hope. and promise. (i don’t think i have ever been this excited about an opportunity before.)

i would really love the opportunity that winning would bring. but even more than that, i am just excited for the commitment that this contest has brought to me. i have made the choice to just show up and do the work. lilla often talks about how the best way you can promote your work is to just make amazing work.

i am really starting to envision my artwork on products and how i will feel when that happens. i am letting my mind wander and dream. i want to have a fabric line. i want to see my artwork in anthropologie and on home decor products. i want to bring joy to people through my art. i want to be represented by lilla.

it feels a little bit scary speaking those dreams out loud. but i know that there is so much power in dreaming out loud. there is this moment, where you have to get over yourself when you speak out big dreams. you have to remove yourself from the equation. because so many times we are the ones who stop our dreams before they even begin. we tell ourselves that it’s too big or too scary or too impossible.

but sometimes it’s good to just sit with the impossibility of a dream. to just let it be big. and to let it out. to speak it out no matter how great or crazy it might be.

so that is what i am sharing with you today. i hope me sharing my dreams with you will help you be brave in speaking out your dreams too.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2013 1:45 pm

    goody luck, Wendy. I love you work.

  2. June 30, 2013 7:05 pm

    So THAT’s what I need to do… have another baby to make my art come together. lol. hmmm. How exciting for you! I recently started speaking my dream of being an artist out loud. It is SCARY to put yourself out there. But now that I have, all of these opportunities have begun presenting themselves. The universe listens! Good luck! I have Lilla’s book and hope to one day work with her (even though it may be waaay in the future).

  3. July 3, 2013 6:30 pm

    I can’t wait to hear what comes of all this creating and dreaming!

  4. fromjoy permalink
    July 18, 2013 4:58 pm

    And win you will. May The Lord bless the work of your hands and may His beauty be upon you.

  5. Danielle Côté permalink
    July 26, 2013 10:56 am

    I would love to see your artwork in print (cards, etc). You are a spectacular artist. I love your work that I’ve seen in Somerset publications. The Universe is listening to you, ready to manifest your dreams.

Leave a Reply

