Skip to content

paint and pattern play

June 25, 2013

i must be obsessed with this color story. greys, whites, orange and pink. feels like it’s all that is coming out right now. here is a new pattern design i have been working on this week.

orange and pink peony

orange and pink peony

and here is a shot of a current work in progress on my studio table…

work in progress

work in progress

do you see a recurring theme? i love to bounce between paint and pattern making. i get inspired in painting and then use some of those same motifs in my patterns. i am having fun…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry Smyth permalink
    June 25, 2013 11:26 am

    Having fun is the most important aspect. I can see why you are attracted to this colour palette!

  2. Nancy Johnston permalink
    June 25, 2013 12:04 pm

    LOVE it! You’ve inspired me to get my paints out and play with pattern.

  3. June 25, 2013 12:30 pm

    Love that pattern. 🙂

  4. Barbara I. permalink
    June 25, 2013 1:33 pm

    I enjoy reading your blog and seeing what you’re up to artistically. I came across your blog quite awhile ago by chance and was very interested because of your story. Our son suffered a TBI too and he is doing amazing. Basically 100% recovered. He had to have surgery and then a lot of rehab but came through it all, thank God.

    As I look at your pattern work, I am wondering if you are familiar with Mary Ann Moss at dispatchfromla.typepad.com? She has been going crazy with patterns lately. I did not see Mary Ann listed in your “Link list” so if you don’t read her blog you might enjoy it. Take care and congrats on the birth of your sweet little girl. God bless!

    • June 25, 2013 6:24 pm

      thanks so much barbara!!! that means a lot to me. so glad your son is doing well now. it’s not an easy road at all!. yes i am familiar with mary ann moss. love her!

  5. June 25, 2013 4:19 pm

    You truly are an amazingly gifted artist.

  6. June 26, 2013 10:30 am

    Great stuff, both pattern and painting. Keep it up.

  7. ann dickey permalink
    June 26, 2013 7:23 pm

    your new patterns an digital work are just amazing!! so inspiring!!!

  8. fromjoy permalink
    July 18, 2013 5:05 pm

    That top pic feels like it wants to be fabric! (I know I’d get some!)

Leave a Reply

