Skip to content

just doing the work…

June 20, 2013

i feel like i am finally getting back on track nearly four months after baby. sheesh! we are now in more of a groove right now and i am using most of my time to just get back in the studio. i know that this year i really want to focus on getting my artwork ready for being licensed. so i have been spending a lot of time in photoshop. too much. but i am learning a lot!!!!

i have figured out how to incorporate parts of my artwork into a pattern and how to digitally manipulate images. it’s really a lot of fun. and i have actually been sketching a bit more. i am trying to start every day with a bit of sketching. trying to make it part of my ritual. lilla rogers talks about that a lot in her new book, i just like to make things… how important it is to have a daily ritual for getting creative. so my little ritual includes a cup of coffee, a pen and paper and nap time.

doing the work

doing the work

i decided that if i just pretend that i am designing for fabrics, plates, pillows and what not… if i will just do the work… then one day, i will really be doing the work. instead of waiting for an agent or a job, i am giving myself fake assignments. design a plate for anthropologie. design a pillow for target. design a pattern for scrapbooking paper. and so on… this way when i am actually doing these things, i will be used to doing the work it takes to be designing artwork for licensing.

i also just updated my website. oh was it ever time to do that!!! now i actually have some of my digital work in my portfolio too. just don’t try clicking on the buttons on my sidebar here on the blog right now. i have to update those!!!

i am putting my designs out there more too. i am submitting some of my work for the first time to moyo, an online design magazine. and i have entered lilla roger’s global talent search. nervous but excited about the talent search… but i am mostly doing it for the experience. i know it will be sooo good for me!!!

here is a recent pattern i just designed. i love that i get inspired by paintings that i make and then translate that into digital work!!!

drips and drops

drips and drops

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2013 10:33 am

    Wonderful . . .

  2. June 20, 2013 10:51 am

    Getting into the swing of things ONLY four months after baby is amazing! I think it took me two years! Lol!

    I love the idea of giving yourself assignments. What a good idea.

  3. June 20, 2013 4:52 pm

    Just do what you love and your art will shine. The rest will take care of itself. You’ll see.

  4. fromjoy permalink
    July 18, 2013 5:08 pm

    Fabric!

Leave a Reply

