Skip to content

june thoughts

June 17, 2013
raw

raw

it’s raining right now. i can hear the sound of it hitting my window as i sit here typing. it’s a welcome sound… prayers are being answered. the fire that has ravaged my city once again is being defeated. it seems impossible that this fire comes to our beloved city almost exactly a year later! we are raw as a community. but strong. i know that many have lost their homes. i can imagine it won’t even feel real until they return to the ashes. it all feels surreal. and for those who haven’t lost homes, journeying through the now blackened forest will bring grief of a different kind.

we love our landscape here, our forests and trees and mountains and sky. i mean, hello, why else would you live in such a beautiful state? we all live in beauty. we are proud of this beauty that surrounds us. and to see it destroyed is so sad. it will take time. our forest will never be the same. but life will go on.

even though my home was not even close to the fire… it still feels personal. i really haven’t been able to find the words.

the rain brings renewed hope though. to all of us. and i have been painting away here in my quiet little basement studio. trying to bring a little color back into the world.

here is a commission piece i have been working on.

commission

commission

i am having fun with it. painting slowly. sitting with it. letting the colors and shapes speak to me.

this month has felt good. to take a break from blogging. summer feels like the perfect time to unplug a little more. and with a new baby girl, my time feels sacred. especially since i have less of it now. here are a few shots from my life this month that just make me happy.

13 years of marriage this month

13 years of marriage this month

father's day

father’s day

eva girl

eva girl

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2013 8:01 pm

    If one thing is certain it’s that the firefighters here are awesome right?

  2. June 21, 2013 1:19 pm

    I’m with you, it does feel so personal. We were 1 1/2 miles from the Waldo Canyon fire line. Even though Black Forest was 10+ miles, I think we all have a little PTSD… Beautiful commissioned (in-progress) work!

  3. June 24, 2013 6:34 pm

    Your painting is looking wonderful. I am unplugging more at home, too — feels right.

  4. August 7, 2013 9:31 pm

    Wendy did you purposely angle the pic of the boots so that the top was a heart? I would love to have a copy of this pic. I have a dream of making a book of “hearts” that have shown up in my life. I have some really unique ones and would love to add your boots to my collection.

    • August 8, 2013 12:49 pm

      no i didn’t even notice there was a heart, but quite appropriate. um, how were you planning on getting the photo? i don’t mind you downloading it from my site for personal use only. 🙂

Leave a Reply

