Skip to content

exploring pattern design

May 4, 2013

it’s one of my dreams to become a licensed artist… designing artwork for product. one of my goals this year is to really build up my portfolio so i can get an agent. so i am designing patterns to include with some of my artwork. i took the first part of the art and business of surface pattern design this last year and learned a ton. i would love to take the other portions of the class. one day, perhaps. anyways, this class really helped me see my art through a designer’s lens. i love that i can take elements of my artwork and incorporate it into a pattern. i have been taking one of my paintings and designing patterns around that painting. it’s kind of fun!!!

i already shared the beginning of this collection here. but i just felt like it was too much all over the place. so i streamlined it a bit… and this is what came out of that.

design collection

the eva collection

eva collection

eva collection

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2013 4:25 pm

    Hi Wendy, Beautiful, and many blessings for you and your family and dreams! Ellen

  2. May 5, 2013 3:13 am

    What a great discovery you’ve made. I love your work! The blue one in the lower right corner is my favorite.

  3. May 6, 2013 9:48 pm

    I like your work very much! Lovely color shceme!

  4. May 6, 2013 9:48 pm

    duh typos! scheme! ha ha ha

  5. Christine N permalink
    May 6, 2013 11:09 pm

    love these!

  6. June 20, 2013 6:07 pm

    Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was
    just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how
    do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you
    can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

