Skip to content

a call to beauty… and well, vulnerability.

April 12, 2013
self care

self portrait

i like instagram. it’s my favorite social media site. i love the string of images. moments really. beauty.

art

art

i love that each photo is a record of the beauty that resides in one little moment. i think it’s important to document beauty. what if we were captured by each small moment of beauty? what if we remembered that life is truly beautiful? what if we found more beauty in the every day? what if we documented it? so that in those moments of chaos and tragedy and mess, we can see the beauty… we can let it heal our brokenness and we can face the difficult moments through the beauty.

life is beautiful

life is beautiful

it’s easy to look at someone’s instagram feed, or facebook statuses or twitter feed or whatever happy edited social media life and think they must have a perfect life. i mean all those flawless self portraits, perfect meals, beautiful homes… it’s easy to think other people have a better life, that it’s somehow more beautiful than our own. it’s easy to get down on ourselves, that somehow everything we do has to be pinterest worthy. that we need to have it all together and look great doing it. i suppose that is the danger of social media… we measure ourselves against someone’s moment of beauty.

instagram feed

instagram feed

i love my instagram feed. i do. it’s beautiful. it’s my beautiful life. and it’s important for me to remember beauty. to find beauty. to cherish it. because it’s those moments that i choose beauty. because it is a choice… a choice that i make every day, to see the beauty all around me.

but trust me, my life is more than my instagram feed. you don’t see the gross snot i wiped from a runny nose. you don’t see piles of dirty dishes or laundry. you don’t see my crazy morning hair or the twenty pounds i need to lose (trust me).

self portrait

self portrait

so who are we kidding? life is messy. and when i post a picture of my home, you might not see the dirty coffee cup sitting on my table that has been there for days. and when i post that beautiful self portrait, you don’t know that i took the photo from just the right angle so you won’t see my double chin. and when i post that picture of my daughter that she has oatmeal crusted in her hair from breakfast.

double chin

double chin

i am not going to stop posting my moments of beauty to instagram because i need it. i need to find the beauty in every day. and i invite you to join me. share your beauty with the world… because we all need you to. we need beauty. your beauty.

but know dear one, that these moments are fleeting. and they are only a small part of what happens every day in my life. and yes they are beautiful. but i have a house cleaner who comes to my house every other week. and there is dried baby spit up on my sweatshirt. and i could stand to loose 20 pounds (not baby weight either). and there are baskets of laundry spilling out of my laundry room.

and that one person who appears to have a perfect life on instagram, doesn’t. and you don’t have to measure up to pinterest or instagram or facebook or anyone really. so let’s share our beauty, but let’s be real and vulnerable with each other. and let’s not believe everything we see on instagram.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2013 5:53 pm

    YES! Exactly. ❤ I must say the picture of your older daughter caressing the babies face – melts. my. heart. And makes my ovaries hurt.

  2. April 12, 2013 9:50 pm

    Such a beautiful touching post, I love it and thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

  3. Kerry permalink
    April 13, 2013 4:28 am

    Right on, Sister! RIGHT ON!!!

  4. Kim permalink
    August 8, 2013 9:29 pm

    I love this!!! Thanks for the vulnerability:)

  5. May 18, 2014 4:44 am

    Love your honesty and your paintings. Keeping it real counts.

Leave a Reply

