Skip to content

paint

March 29, 2013

Photo Mar 20, 9 35 25 AM

a few months ago, i got to meet my online friend kerry in denver. we spent the day perusing the fun downtown stores. i remember telling her that i just wanted to take a year to paint… to forget about all business goals and just paint, to just play deep in the studio… to explore, make a mess, find myself. i still remember the store we were standing in when she asked me what was keeping me from doing just that. i was surprised at the answer that came out of my mouth… nothing.

i want to paint. i want to see color in a new way. i want to grow as an artist. i want to develop my style. i want my paintings to be irresistible and life altering. i want to stop people in their tracks… to the point that they are transported by my art.

i am saying yes to paint. and even though we are already three months into 2013, i am declaring “paint” to be be my one little word for the year. i can’t remember who it was that i read had already made “paint” their word for the year… honestly, i am not trying to copy… it just resonated deep in my heart. and my spirit resounded with a big yes! yes!!! i just want to paint.

Photo Mar 20, 10 28 41 AM

this word keeps popping up and i just can’t ignore it.

i am not sure what this means for my business… i have had lots of big goals over the years. and it’s not like those big goals are going away. it’s just that i feel like in so many ways with a new baby, my life is just on hold. but in a good way. so i think it’s the perfect time to really develop myself as an artist. not that i haven’t already, i just think of myself as a lifelong learner when it comes to painting. and this is just the perfect timing to do just that…

paint.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2013 12:29 pm

    Dear Wendy, Blessings to you and your family. I love receiving your posts, and they feel very much like Easter to me. I feel about words the way you feel about paint. Love, Ellen

  2. March 29, 2013 4:37 pm

    Oh yes – I want to encourage you to do so. I made the same statement last year and did so (well I painted about 2-3 days a week over the past year). I can tell you for sure it deepened and changed my art in many ways. AND just in the past couple of days, I made the commitment to up that to 4-5 days a week. I’m busy “clearing a few things off the to do list” then I’m doing it! Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

