Skip to content

project self care

March 27, 2013

sometimes when you have a baby… you kind of forget about yourself. something about another human being completely dependent on you for EVERYTHING makes you forget your own needs. you forget to eat, sleep… or bathe. the nights blur into days. and you wake up with crazy bed head not knowing what way is up. you don’t care if there is baby poop on your jeans (cleaned with a wet wipe of course), you don’t have time to change into anything else. you forget your sweatshirt has dried spit up on it. oh yes! the early days of baby can be crazy…

this time around i am committed to taking care of myself a little bit more. haircuts, polished nails, the perfect cup of coffee, a day out with a friend, movie night in with the hubbie, a trip out to the grocery store by yourself, painting, all of these things make such a difference in your sanity. it’s the little things that add up.

so i am starting project self care in an effort to taking better care of myself during this crazy time. to keep my sanity…

Photo Mar 16, 5 09 52 PM-1

i am finding that it really helps to take a shower in the mornings and get ready. i just feel better about myself and my day when i am dressed and showered… and i just got my haircut. isn’t it amazing how a new haircut can make you feel like a new person?

selfcareblog2

finding time daily to paint and be creative really helps my sanity. here is part of a painting that i have been working on this week. i can’t tell you how much it has helped just to find my way back into the studio this week. it feels like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders.

selfcareblog4

i even got some new art supplies in one of my first outings away from baby. these happy neon colors are getting me inspired. i have a blog post coming celebrating all things neon. i have been having so much fun with this new trend!

how do you practice self care?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2013 12:01 pm

    oh, so good for you Wendy. I remember the days when going to the grocery store alone was a big deal. Still is actually. LOL. And haircuts and nails getting done. Huge. I love your painting and your hair looks adorable. I am totally cutting mine short again. I am with you on the shower in the a.m. Totally helps. I have to get some neon colors. They look like fun.

  2. March 27, 2013 1:09 pm

    That’s great news Wendy. Hope you make more great art.

  3. March 27, 2013 1:11 pm

    You look awesome! I’m so glad you wrote a reminder to us to use self care!

  4. March 27, 2013 8:35 pm

    You go girl!!! That is very inspiring. I’m a SAHM of 3 and so don’t take care of myself like I should, I know that it’s important, but I ALWAYS put my self on the back burner. NOT good.

    Thanks for this, I need to take care of ME!

  5. March 28, 2013 10:46 am

    I totally need to get some of those ‘rad’ neon paints!

  6. April 19, 2013 4:47 am

    Very nice post. I certainly appreciate this site.
    Continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

