Skip to content

permission to grieve

December 17, 2012
permission to grieve

permission

like many other parents, i dropped my 6 year old off at school this morning fighting back tears with a plethora of “i love you’s”. it was like every other morning… only it wasn’t. i am not sure that morning drop offs will EVER be the same. and i am grieving.

the truth is that my heart is heavy today. i am finding the need to give myself permission to grieve.

i am feeling raw. broken open.

i know that it’s so necessary for me to lean into my grief. to really feel it. to go through it.

because grieving is our only path toward healing.

and i know that we are all grieving this tragedy today.

there are a few things that i remembering through this entire grief process…

i choose to not live in fear.

i must continue to hold my children with open hands towards heaven because they aren’t really mine. they have only been entrusted to me.

i must cherish every moment and every day that i am given these beautiful priceless gifts that are my children.

love and blessings to all of you… and if you need it, i give you permission to grieve.

note: my husband is building me a new computer and my laptop has been sold. yay! this is a good thing because i will have a ton more hard drive space for pictures, videos and art files. anyways, i have a feeling that it is going to be a few weeks before i have a working computer again. because of this, i will be taking a little blog break. so if i am not here before then, merry christmas and i will see you soon!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2012 3:15 pm

    Dear Wendy, Love and Christmas blessings, Ellen

  2. December 17, 2012 3:22 pm

    Thank you so much from another Mommy, of another 6 year old child, who did the exact same thing as you today. Have a beautiful holiday.

  3. December 17, 2012 6:52 pm

    I am right there with you. Merry Christmas to you and your family. Love the snow falling you have going on.

  4. Gill permalink
    December 18, 2012 4:56 am

    Beautiful thoughts!

  5. January 1, 2013 3:26 am

    A Happy New Year to you and your family Wendy, thank you for sharing your art and thoughts and for all the inspiration you have given me.
    Big love
    AJ 🙂

  6. January 3, 2013 5:34 am

    Hi Wendy,
    I received a Very Inspiring Blogger Award last week and when my time to nominate someone came, I thought of you. This award thing allows me to come to you to express how much I like what you do and how much I’m growing thanks to your art and also, to spread the word about you with my followers. Hope you’ll accept it and participate.
    Happy New Year and keep up the good work!
    Sabrina S. from Bordeaux, France.

  7. January 28, 2013 2:00 pm

    So beautiful and so true!

Leave a Reply

