Skip to content

Journal It! A Book Review

November 30, 2012
Journal It!

Journal It!

Oh Boy, do I have a treat for you today! I get to share with you a new art journaling book, Journal It by Jenny Doh. This book is a delightful collection of art journaling techniques and perspectives from 19 different artists! Jenny is a master of bringing together different view points from many artists. I am absolutely positive that you will find one or more artists in this book that you can relate to. I love that this book touches on the unique perspectives every artist brings to art journaling. We all have a different way to approach journaling. There is no wrong or right way. You just have to find what works for you!

One of the contributing artists in this book is my dear friend Roben Marie. I was delighted when Roben asked me to review this book and share it on my blog. I have long admired Roben Marie’s work. She is one of my favorite art journaling artists!!! She is one of those “go to” artists for me when I am looking for inspiration.

This book highlights several artists that I have long admired like Alisa Burke and Julie Fei-Fan Balzer. But there are many more “unknown to me” artists. And I always love being introduced to new artists.

When I am looking through art books I often pull bits and pieces of inspiration to experiment with in my own art journals. I thought I might share with you some inspiration I found in this book.

Journal It!

Susan Shelley

I am loving the yummy texture that Susan Shelley uses on these pages. The use of burlap, string and what looks like an old shoelace just makes me want to reach out and touch the page. I love how the texture really shines through on these pages because it is done with neutral colors. I am ready to go searching through my stash to look for bits of fun texture to include in my art, how about you?

Journal It!

Roben Marie

I was also immediately drawn to these pages by Roben Marie. I absolutely love the use of stitching as a means of creating lines. I have often used my sewing machine to add texture and lines to my art journal pages, but these pages make me want to break out the old fashioned needle and thread. I can’t wait to play with this technique in my art journals.

Journal It!

Bruce Kremer

I really enjoyed looking at Bruce Kremer’s process!!! Sometimes it’s good to look at artists who get you thinking outside of the box and your own personal comfort zone. I love how these pages look like a simple planner that has been doodled in. And I am totally loving the coffee stain. These pages make me feel like I am peering into someone’s day and experiences but with a sense of mystery…. like I am piecing together little clues of someone’s life. This really has me thinking differently about how I approach my journal pages.

Well I hope you enjoyed these little bits of inspiration from Journal It! I think this book would make a fabulous gift for the creative art journaler in your life… or maybe you might want to add it to your own wish list. I highly recommend it as a resource for art journaling inspiration!!!

Watch this trailer for even more on this fabulous book!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2012 12:08 pm

    Dear Wendy, Thank you. I bought black gallery frames at Target for two of the prints I ordered from you this year. One painting hangs in my little study and the other over the fireplace. Another print is in this room, in an older frame. All look very nice and inspire my days.

    Love your book review and will look for the book!

    Blessings, Ellen

  2. November 30, 2012 2:53 pm

    I ordered this book the other day, it should be here this week! Can’t wait!

  3. December 26, 2012 4:47 pm

    Thanks Wendy! Hope you are doing well and had a blessed Christmas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

