Skip to content

painting, pretending and becoming a gallery artist

October 30, 2012
The Squash Blossom

the squash blossom

when i am not busy being pregnant, i just want to hide away in my studio and paint. and all i feel like painting these days are big canvases. i am putting my art journals on the shelf for a bit. i think i got a little journaled out after doing a page every day for the last year. i know i will be back to journaling soon. but in the meantime, canvases are calling my name. and i feel my art moving into a more fine art direction. who knew? sometimes i have this feeling like i am not really in control of what i create… that i am just along for the ride, going wherever the wind blows me. do you ever feel like that?

things have been shifting in my life and business lately. there has been an opening up and ending of old opportunities, which is making the way for the new ones. one of these opportunities is being represented by a gallery.

it’s official… i am a gallery artist. right now i am just letting that soak in.

this opportunity feels HUGE to me. it wasn’t something that i was purposely seeking out or trying to accomplish. the opportunity literally just fell into my lap. but even though i wasn’t seeking it out, i am so terribly excited about the whole thing.

ever since starting to paint several years ago, i have moments where i feel like i am just pretending to be an artist. like i am just sitting here waiting “to arrive” as an artist, be discovered or something. i am not exactly sure. even through all of my accomplishments, i somehow feel like i am still that little girl with her box of crayola crayons. silly huh?

but for some reason or another, this opportunity has just hit home for me. it has just made me feel more validated as an artist. more professional. more official.

so… i am excited to announce that my work will be represented by The Squash Blossom. i feel so amazingly honored to be showing my artwork in this particular gallery. i feel so proud to be named as one of their artists. the gallery is located in old colorado city, so if you are local, go check it out. you can see my pieces here. i will be doing an art show in december. which is why it’s a good thing that all i feel like doing is painting canvases right now.

i am off to paint some new pieces… my studio is calling me.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2012 11:31 am

    Sounds like a great opportunity to get your work out there, congratulations! Super happy for you!

  2. October 30, 2012 2:17 pm

    Congrats! I share your excitement over becoming a gallery artist!

  3. October 30, 2012 4:22 pm

    Congratulations!!!! 🙂

  4. October 30, 2012 4:59 pm

    Congrats. The Squash Blossom will be a fabulous venue for you. I’ll have to stop by to see your work.

  5. October 30, 2012 5:45 pm

    Congratulations!! So amazing to hear, I completely get your wanting to work on large canvases, I love “going big” as well especially after a long time working on small peices. Again, thrilled for you. Lorelei

  6. October 30, 2012 7:18 pm

    Thats awesome congrats!

  7. October 31, 2012 3:38 am

    Woo HOO!

  8. ann dickey permalink
    October 31, 2012 5:51 am

    oh the places you will go….!!! good for you my friend.

Leave a Reply

