Skip to content

dealing with creative blocks

October 10, 2012

this morning when i woke up i realized that i needed to do art. the creative spaces in my brain are gathering cobwebs. well maybe that is a little bit too drastic of a statement… it’s only been a few weeks since i have painted.

i have learned after painting this long that i have to listen to the desire to rest. and i needed it after finishing up my year long art journal challenge. it has felt amazing to not have to do anything for the last few weeks. in fact, it feels like everything has been opening up and changing in my life lately. it’s been a while since i haven’t had three or four big projects going on at the same time. i feel like i can breathe. what am i going to do with all of this free time? paint, reflect, write, putz around the house… whatever i want.

but the last few days when i have heard painting calling me to the studio, i feel stuck. frozen in my tracks to be precise, not knowing exactly how to get back to being creative.

at first i had no idea why i was feeling that way. then i realized something. i feel absolutely overwhelmed with my creative space right now. you see, my studio is in the bedroom that will soon become the nursery. and my studio needs to be moved into a bedroom in the basement that is filled with computer stuff. the truth is until i get all of this moving and rearranging done, and get the nursery set up, i feel like i can’t do art. i need to get my new space set up and i need to feel like i am ready for the baby.

at least i now know where this stuck feeling is coming from… and i can do something about it. oh boy, do i have a lot of work to do. so much decluttering and purging. but i am really looking forward to this time of getting the house ready for our new little addition.

i am going to start today with baby steps. just doing a little bit every day. i will keep you updated… i will end with pictures my studio/ nursery  just so you can see how much work there is to do!!!

studio mess

studio now/ nursery

before nursery

studio now/ nursery

3 Comments leave one →
  1. KellyT permalink
    October 10, 2012 6:23 pm

    Oh boy, do I ever know that feeling. That overwhelmed, hormonal feeling. Do the 15 minute strategy. Take 15 minutes, just 15 minutes, to work on cleaning. Do this each day. And if you feel like doing 30, then that’s fine- go for it! But do 15 minutes each and every day, and then all of a sudden, you will have made progress. Getting started is the hardest part. I’m sure you know that. I’m so happy for you and your baby 🙂 Just remember to be gentle with yourself. You are making a masterpiece right now, even without painting 🙂

  2. October 10, 2012 7:08 pm

    Yes this is common to us creatives… wishing you well with your changes and your new little addition xx I did the same thing with my studio earlier this year and it was a wonderful creative opening… now I need to do it again…lol
    All the best! 🙂

  3. October 16, 2012 5:55 am

    i hear you. how is it that i was able to do creative stuff in a temporary house and now that i’m in my permanent house, i haven’t had the time? moving, unpacking… makes me crazy. that and the fact that all my paints, etc are in boxes, scattered throughout the house, and my craft table is covered in boxes.

Leave a Reply

