Skip to content

finding my bearings…

October 8, 2012

it’s been quite a week. which has made me completely silent on the blog front.

i have been busy with my other full full time j-o-b. didn’t know that i had one? it’s called being a parent. yep, there are just those days that i think this must be the hardest job i will ever have. and it’s true.

but it’s also the most rewarding one as well.

last week my daughter was bitten at pre-school. yes, you heard that correctly. broke the skin even. what has followed has been a lot of me playing the advocate for my daughter, and a lot of other stuff i would rather not go into right now. school mumbo jumbo and frustrations.

when stuff like this happens, i find that my margins are super small emotionally. that i can’t handle much else.

how about you… do you ever have times when you have to clear your schedule and your life just to play your most important role? do you find yourself emotionally exhausted after dealing with these types of issues?

i promise i will be back soon. just need some time to recoup, rest up and find my bearings. talk to you soon!

note: just so you know, it really wasn’t the actual biting that was so difficult to get past, just the way in which it was handled.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    October 8, 2012 1:41 pm

    so sorry this happened to your family. I’m a bit ashamed to admit that I’d have probably lost half my mind if it had happened to us, and I sure understand the emotional and physical toll it had to have taken on you all. Good wishes for a quick rebound.

  2. October 8, 2012 1:54 pm

    Its quite shocking when that happens! My youngest son was playing trains in the toyshop with the trains and another equally small boy turned and bit him on the cheek! I was stunned! I think the other mother a horrified – we left immediately! I think the shock is more to us! Hopefully preschool will take the opportunity to talk about expressing anger in words And not hitting out including biting each other.
    Take care its come at a tough time for you. And he doesn’t remember it and there was no scar!

  3. Nancy Johnston permalink
    October 8, 2012 1:57 pm

    This stuff happens in preschool. Unfortunate, but it’s a time for socializing, etc. for our young ones. Don’t get all weirded out over it. By child #2 or 3, it won’t even phase you.

  4. October 8, 2012 4:10 pm

    emotionally exhausted? yes I know the feeling. I had to clear up my life to become a primary care taker (care giver I never know the right word) to a loved one. So yes, having your life revolve around someone else other than you is utterly the most rewarding experience in your life but it also can be emotionally exhausting. That can not be denied.

    I’m sorry for what your daughter and you as a mom are going through. I went through a similar experience in the third grade. A bully boy pinched me so hard that he even tore the skin on my arm. To this date, I feel weirdness (not resentment but weirdness) when I see the kid (full grown man now) and/or his mom around.

    Take your time, recoup and channel everything and transform it into art! ūüėČ

  5. ann dickey permalink
    October 8, 2012 5:50 pm

    UGH. so sorry to hear that the mumbo jumbo at school is kicking up. it is hard to navigate and still say sane~ wishing you down time and hoping it all works out for the best.
    and yes…. by far the hardest job…. EVAHHHHH! ( but the best one too! )

  6. October 9, 2012 12:05 pm

    Yep, I have been trying to find my bearings for months now, so I haven’t written or shared anything on my blog in a long time. I have just felt the need to be still because life just seems so heavy right now. Praying we both find our bearings soon and laughter and joy fill our hearts.

Leave a Reply

