Skip to content

white is not a color

August 28, 2012

i have a friend whose favorite color is white. did you know that white is not technically a color? i think it’s considered the absence of color. white to me is a very important neutral. using white in a painting means i can add even more color. it’s like a balancing act. color has to be balanced with neutrals or the color will overwhelm you.

you all know how much i absolutely love color. and i think i have a pretty good innate sense of color. color makes me happy. color helped me break free from depression when i first started painting. i love color.

so when i set out to paint a painting for my dear friend who loves white, i really doubted i could even do it. me? not add a lot of color to a painting? how so not like me.

it turns out this was just the kind of challenge to get my creative juices flowing. and i found a new side to myself. i could paint without a lot of color and create something absolutely beautiful. i actually really enjoyed doing this. now i am not saying that i will be moving entirely in this direction with my painting, but it really was fun to do something different. this painting might be one of my new favorites. my friend even cried when i gave her the painting because it was just so her.

mixed media painting + texture

love

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 12:17 pm

    love your work!!!! it is quite challenging to paint outside of your comfort zone…used to painting with pastel colors, i recently painted something using blacks and browns…it was truly eye opening…my next painting was shockingly bright red and black…i guess we all should force ourselves to use all the colors in the box once in a while!!!

  2. August 28, 2012 2:49 pm

    Looks beautiful!

  3. August 30, 2012 5:01 pm

    I see lots of colours! They’re just tints in this case 🙂

    Black and white just takes me back to elementary school and science projects about light. I guess I think white as being EVERY COLOUR! hehehehe. Well it is, technically, just every colour reflected in perfect unison, combining together into its original form of white light! Now it’s getting too sciency and I have confused myself lol

Leave a Reply

