Skip to content

in shock

June 27, 2012

today, i awake to a very somber morning. if you don’t know, my city is being ravaged by a very vicious wildfire. many have lost their homes… many more have been evacuated. my family is far from the fire. so we are safe. but it has really hit close to home. my parents and my mother in law have had to evacuate their homes.

living here in colorado springs, you have a sense of ownership. i often think of pikes peak as my mountain. silly right? it truly is one of the most beautiful places in the entire world to live. and i have a sense of pride as to how our community has bonded together because of this tragedy.

it’s still unknown the extent of the damages. and the fire is still far from being over. please keep us all in your thoughts and your prayers. here are some awe inspiring pictures from yesterday. they are truly unbelievable.

waldo canyon fire

my beautiful mountain

waldo canyon fire

another shocking view

waldo canyon fire

from close to my parents home

waldo canyon

the fire reaches our city

the term beauty from ashes is taking on a new meaning now. and when it’s time, i pray that we will be able to find beauty from these very devastating ashes.

 

23 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2012 8:06 am

    Im in CS too..not too far from the fires. Despite this horrific event I am happy to see the community bond together and offer so much help to those in need of it.

  2. June 27, 2012 8:20 am

    I’m am so very sorry! This devastation has brought me to tears. I pray your home survives and I pray for your family. Please know that someone in Amarillo is praying for Colorado Springs. We love it there. We were just there for Thanksgiving and we were planning to come in July and hike Seven Falls. I fail to understand, but trust that God sees.

  3. June 27, 2012 8:23 am

    Thoughts and prayers!

  4. June 27, 2012 8:23 am

    Oh my gosh Wendy, my heart goes out to you and your community. Prayers that everyone is safe and that the fire will be put out soon. xo

  5. June 27, 2012 8:52 am

    I am here in the Springs too, and it has been surreal watching this unfold. It is so devastating for so many people. Stay safe!

  6. June 27, 2012 9:40 am

    I am so sorry this is happening to your hometown. I say a prayer for you and your loved ones. Big hug from Mexico City

  7. June 27, 2012 9:50 am

    I am praying – photos bring such a reality – appreciate opening up your world to us

  8. June 27, 2012 11:20 am

    The photos are heartbreaking and awe inspiring at the same time. My thoughts are with you and your family and everyone affected. I can’t even imagine. The power of community in a crisis is amazing, the heart of the city.

  9. June 27, 2012 11:23 am

    Dear Wendy, Sending love and prayers to you and family and community…Ellen

  10. catiesblue permalink
    June 27, 2012 12:01 pm

    Oh, Wendy. I don’t know what to say. So, I’ll just say that I’m glad you and your entire family are all right. I’m thinking of you.

  11. June 27, 2012 12:30 pm

    I’m from CS too! I am so heartbroken. sending prayers and thoughts your way too!

  12. June 27, 2012 12:49 pm

    I hope they are able to put the fires out soon, and that you and your family are doing ok. My thoughts are with you and your community

  13. June 27, 2012 1:37 pm

    Dear Wendy, I am sending love and good thoughts, I hope that you, your family and community stay safe. It looks terrifying, I hope it can be controlled and put out soon.
    Stay safe
    Big love
    AJ

  14. June 27, 2012 5:08 pm

    Just said a little prayer for all of you.

  15. June 27, 2012 7:35 pm

    May Divine Spirit bring relief and safety too all involved Now! My Love and Prayers are with you now.

  16. June 27, 2012 7:49 pm

    This is just unreal. I will keep you and the rest of Colorado in my prayers. This is awful.

  17. June 28, 2012 2:39 am

    my prayers are with you and your family. stay safe.

  18. andrea permalink
    June 28, 2012 7:08 am

    these photos just break my heart, i am so so sorry, thankyou for sharing, stay safe xxx

  19. ann dickey permalink
    June 28, 2012 10:18 am

    live in colorado springs too… it has been very scary. your pictures tell the story wendy.
    THANK YOU FIRE FIGHTERS!!
    AND… for every home that burned… there are soooo many more that were saved by diligent fire fighting. and NO LIVES lost… that is incredible. its STILL a beautiful day here in CS.

  20. AceCandyCandace permalink
    June 29, 2012 6:26 pm

    I can’t express the fear these photos bring to me. To be living it must be so overwhelming. My heart goes out to you, your family and all the residence oc Colorado Springs.

  21. joanne permalink
    June 30, 2012 4:05 am

    Will be thinking of you and your family.Have had fires close to us in the pasts too.It is a very anxious time.Take care.Joanne

  22. June 30, 2012 10:38 am

    I am thinking about you and your family too. yes, the photos are beautiful but it is hard to appreciate them knowing the devastation that the fire is causing.

  23. July 1, 2012 5:02 pm

    That is terrifying. I have no idea what to say. ūüė¶

Leave a Reply

