Skip to content

journal challenge day 203 & 204

June 3, 2012

journal entry: project enjoy life has turned out to be so much harder than i thought it would be. because in order to enjoy life, you have to believe you deserve to. getting rid of self hatred is key!

materials used: spray inks, acrylic paint, pen, collage.

art journal challenge

day 203

journal entry: hope. hope was just the beginning for me, on my journey to new life. hold onto hope in the midst of the mess.

materials used: watercolors, spray inks, acrylic ink, collage, pen

art journal challenge

day 204

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 6:34 am

    I love your blog and your art work. Each day I read it – and I feel your pain and your joy and all the while see you express and create. And i admire that you put your energy into creating even as you heal and move forward. Nothing is wasted, nothing is lost and quite a lot of wisdom and new creative juices are hard earned. Gradually the old outmoded worn out thought patterns subside and the new takes hold – stakes its claim in your being. And oddly the “new life” grows from the ashes of what no longer works or lives in you. It’s not so much hard – but gradual – a morphing process that one day you’ll notice has taken hold. Be loving and patient and kind to yourself. You deserve it. And thanks for sharing your journey

    • June 4, 2012 8:38 am

      wow!what beautiful words susan. thank you for sharing them with me. all of them are so so true. i love it!

  2. Laura permalink
    June 4, 2012 12:31 pm

    Appreciate so very much your transparency. I am probably not as far down the road as you are. I certainly ‘clicked’ with your post again today. So how does one get rid of self hatred and believe one deserves to enjoy life?
    I guess you’ll let us know what you discover. (-:

    • June 4, 2012 5:23 pm

      laura… i think it takes a LOT of soul searching!!! sometimes i ask god what he thinks about me. he doesn’t hate me at all. i think about why i hate myself. the first step is just recognizing your self hatred and where it comes from. for me it has a lot of it has to do with performance. sometimes it’s linked to an event that has happened to you or how you grew up. but i think how you get out of it is by making a choice to love yourself every day… whatever that means. stop thinking condemning thoughts. it’s not truth. first you have to recognize them. i can remember times that i had thoughts that said i hate myself. then start making choices to love yourself. be present. tell yourself positive affirmations. do things that refresh yourself. make choices that bring you life!

  3. June 19, 2012 10:46 am

    Your entries and art always speak to me, but in particular I was struck by this sentiment: in order to enjoy life, you have to believe you deserve to. The fact that this spoke to me so leads me to believe it’s not something I’ve quite figured out myself yet. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

