Skip to content

becoming

March 20, 2012
becoming

becoming me

do you ever feel like you are always in the becoming? never the arriving that you expect, but all the little steps along the way.

confession time: i get a little impatient. i see the end result and where i want to be and i want to be there like right now! yesterday in fact. i want the end product, the beautiful picture perfect result, the successful business, the full life… my biggest dreams. and at every little setback i feel frustration and impatience. it’s true.

but life happens.

a big mess. unexpected turns.

and i am once again reminded that life can’t be bottled and controlled in my safe little way.

i have been thinking about this lately. that life is what happens in between now and then. it’s the little moments. it’s the simple beauties. it’s the choices that we make to be brave and joyful and full and grateful. it’s the choice to find the beauty in the mess. that is what life is.

and when we surrender to becoming who we were meant to be, along with all of the bumps and bruises along the way, we find ourselves. when we surrender to the process and the journey and the lessons we are supposed to learn, we become the vessel that can hold our dreams.

i am reminding myself of this today. that even though i am not exactly where i want to be, i am exactly where i need to be. and that is beautiful.

i am in a becoming stage right now. lots of big ideas happening and i am not sure how to make it all happen. big juicy crazy dreams. while i plan and work and dream and question i am becoming.

p.s. i am doing something tomorrow that i have never done before. i am releasing twelve new originals for sale in my etsy store all at the same time. six originals that i have had for a while and six new ones. so it’s going to be a great time for you get your hands on one of my originals. and later in the week i will be sharing about an upcoming workshop. something i am extremely excited about!!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2012 2:54 pm

    Yes Wendy! This quote from a podcast I listened to the other day really enlightened me…“The problem so often is that we want our lives to be a work of art, but we don’t want the art to take time. You’re not like a finished work of art in a gallery or museum. LA (or San Antonio) is not the Louvre and you’re not the Mona Lisa yet. You’re in Picasso’s basement, and there’s paint all over the floor and dust in the room. You’re in Michelangelo’s attic, and so there’s rummage everywhere and pieces of stone and rock, and what you don’t realize is that you are a work of art but you’re not a finished work of art…and you’re “in the process” so sometimes it can be so discouraging because you see the paint on the floor, and on the clothes, and you see dirt everywhere and dust, and you see all the tools of the work… and sometimes life is so turbulent and so difficult and so overwhelming, that you get distracted and don’t realize…Oh, I have the privilege of not only watching a work of art in process, I get to be the work of art in process…and it takes time to become who you were created to be.” Erwin McManus, from his message: Artisan – Craft: The Elegance of Craftsmanship

  2. March 20, 2012 3:13 pm

    resting in your words, thank you

  3. ann dickey permalink
    March 20, 2012 6:23 pm

    “life is what happens between now and then”…. i really like that wendy.

  4. March 21, 2012 8:39 am

    Was thinking along these same lines this morning while working in my studio. I’ve been so stressed lately about money and needing to prove to myself that my art is something valuable to the world. That all the money and effort my parents put into my education and that I put into my craft, my life, my roles is all worth “it” (what ever that is). I finally took a deep breath and told myself to be in the moment and not worry about the future. That the future of my work rides on my efforts in the now. Thank you for sharing! Didn’t mean to rant here…but wanted to share my similar thoughts to a fellow creative groovy girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

