Skip to content

blissed. out. happy.

March 14, 2012

i think i could be happy if all i did was paint every day for the rest of my life. it makes me so happy. blissed. out. happy.

mixed media paintings

new painting

guess where i have been every extra moment lately? hiding away in my studio. falling in love with new paintings. they are almost like new friends that i uncover as i go. each one speaks to me in a different language. some of them are loud and demanding… while others quiet and patient. but i love them all. and what i love even more is the process of getting to know each one.

i have been listening deeper lately. i have been stretching myself and moving outside of my comfort zone in my painting. the paint strokes. the layers. the way the colors speak to me. the unexpected elements. the messy spots. it’s these little things that make my heart sing.

why do the messy little spots in the paintings make my heart so giddy? i haven’t figured that one out yet.

mixed media painting + bliss

new painting

when the day is over and i instinctively know that i can’t possibly paint any more, i linger and stare at the fruit of my labor. i admire them and my heart smiles. and i know that i will peek back at them again before i go to bed.

i have been thinking about how happy i am when i let myself paint. i have been thinking so much about how it has been part of my healing. painting brings so much peace to my heart and grounds my life. painting brings me pleasure. there is so much power in doing something that makes your heart sing. real healing power.

why don’t we do more of these things that make us blissed out happy? we let life and stress step in and we listen to the noise and distractions all around us. and we say yes to the things that drain and zap our energy. then we wonder why we are so tired. why?

mixed media painting + bliss

new painting

i have been making a conscious effort lately to cut out the noise. to listen to my passions more. and to stop filling my days with endless fluff that really gets me no closer to my dreams. i mean seriously, is checking facebook for the upteenth time going to help me on accomplishing my big goals? probably not.

out of this place of painting and doing what i love and really truly listening… i feel like i am closer to finding my destiny. what i was created to do. and i love that.

so my dear friend, i give you permission today to do what makes you blissed out happy. it’s ok and you deserve it. much love!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Maureen permalink
    March 14, 2012 10:25 am

    Beautiful paintings, I can see why you feel blessed out! Thanks for the reminder to follow that more. I am SO stressed out with my own health problems and now my Mom being so sick, and I don’t always allow myself any time to do something just for me. I NEED this or I won’t be able to help anyone. Thanks for the reminder and the permission.

    Have a great day!

  2. March 14, 2012 12:22 pm

    Great painting(s)! Its wonderful that you are following your inspiration and finding happiness in your paintings! They are beautiful!

  3. March 15, 2012 10:34 am

    Hello, I have a feeling you already have lots of followers and are an established blogger, but your blog really inspires and cheers me to pick up my paints again so I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award 🙂
    http://thecosycreative.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/liebster-blog-award-yay/

  4. March 20, 2012 7:37 pm

    I love this sentiment, “i think i could be happy if all i did was paint every day for the rest of my life.” I feel the same way! I love your work, such great color and whimsy 🙂 Totally up my alley!

Leave a Reply

