Skip to content

the broken places (submission guidelines)

February 29, 2012
mixed media painting

spring bouquet

my dear friends, i have been on a journey lately… a journey that has been taking me to deeper places in my heart. i have been digging deeper than i ever thought possible. and it’s been blowing my mind. i feel like i am finally, and i stress FINALLY, starting to truly walk in who i am supposed to be. it’s been a long time coming. but i am remembering… remembering things about myself that haven’t been there since before the accident. remembering me.

and i just have this very deep sense of gratitude. i am just so very very grateful for the places my journey is taking me right now. complete and utter restoration would probably sum it up. like i said, i am soooo grateful. i seriously can’t wait to share all of the details with you.

i really can’t get over how excited i am to launch my new site beauty from the broken places. mostly because i know the power in telling your story. it’s really how i started the process of healing, by sharing my story with others. and if i can help you on your journey towards healing, that makes me very happy. oh, it’s going to be so amazing friends.

broken places

Submission Guidelines for Beauty in the Broken Places:

Tell your story!!! I want to invite you to share your story of broken places. Please share your journey out of the broken places and how beauty helped to bring healing to your life. (1,000 word limit) Please feel free to share with images and words in whatever way you would like. Please answer one or more of the following questions. Remember that the purpose of these stories is to inspire other women to find beauty in the broken places.

  • In what ways has beauty sprung up or been revealed to you out of your broken places?
  • Describe what your broken places looked like and how beauty helped you through your brokenness.
  • How did being brought to a place of brokenness allow you to grow into more of who you were meant to be?
  • What did you learn from your broken places and how has it changed your perspective on life?
  • What did your journey toward healing look like? How did beauty fuel your healing?

Please include 4-5 of your own images that best illustrate your story as well as a picture of yourself. Image sizes should be around 400-600 KB. Please email your submissions to wendy@agirlandherbrush.com.

i am so excited to hear your stories. i don’t have an exact timeline for when the new site will be launched, but i am shooting for may. and i would love to have an arsenal of stories to share before the site even goes live. so much goodness in store. i hope we start a hope revolution! i can’t wait for you to play a part because in all honesty, i need you to do this!!!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 10:10 am

    Reblogged this on Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin.

  2. February 29, 2012 10:47 am

    the very best of everything good for you and your new project. I can hardly wait to read the stories!

  3. Caddo Veil permalink
    February 29, 2012 11:15 am

    I’m very excited for you! And praying that God will bless you so abundantly, you’ll be amazed!!

    • February 29, 2012 11:26 am

      you have no idea what that means!!! i have been journaling all about abundance this morning. thank you!!!!

      • February 29, 2012 3:13 pm

        That’s just how Great our God is–puts us on the same page with sisters we are meant to love! You’ve blessed me today, Sweetie!!

  4. ann dickey permalink
    February 29, 2012 1:43 pm

    first of all… LOVE the new painting…. you never cease to amaze me! truly beautiful!!!!
    and…. i am so excited to hear about your new idea Broken Places. i am going to work on trying to submit something. story telling is so powerful, and coupling it with visual art… makes it even more meaningful.

  5. Merrill Ann Gonzales permalink
    February 29, 2012 8:16 pm

    I have a spinal disability which was aggrevated by an accident which left me in severe pain for over ten years with bouts of paralysis. During that time my husband was dying of congested heart failure. I used to listen to the birds outside my window and watch them even in the coldest winters just hop around and be so full of life and I felt that life fill me with life until I could walk again. I’ve been drawing birds and beasties ever since… and today I’m pain free and able to walk everywhere I go… I don’t drive and I find the walking is great exercise … I love to feel the weather when I’m out walking and always turn down offers to ride since walking to me is such a precious thing to experience. I am so glad to meet someone like you …. a partner on the path … It’s great to hear from others who have been there and won.

    • Merrill Ann Gonzales permalink
      February 29, 2012 8:18 pm

      His eye is on the sparrow…and I know He watches me.

      • February 29, 2012 9:43 pm

        Merrill, It is such a blessing to know you too. Your drawings and haiku are so beautiful.

        It is good to tell our stories.

        Thank you, Wendy.

  6. March 1, 2012 6:46 am

    I don’t have time to write my story today but I have one and I will try to get back to it …. here is my blog… the last few entries are upbeat … because I am in a wonderful place now but I experienced a betrayal that brought me to my knees in January…. read here. —> http://christinafajardo.blogspot.com/

  7. March 1, 2012 3:58 pm

    Thank you for being here, Wendy! Thank you, everybody who is here.
    There is so much beauty and kindness here.
    Most of the time I don’t talk about my brokenness, just try to put it into stories in a symbolic way. I used to draw and paint, from childhood. So I will try to put them together for a submission to your new site.
    It is so inspiring to be here.
    Thank you!

    • March 1, 2012 4:38 pm

      you are so very welcome!!! i can’t wait to read your story. there is so much POWER in telling your story.

  8. March 2, 2012 2:30 pm

    OK, I’m making a commitment here (because if I don’t write this reply, then I’ll just let it slip). I’ll write my story! At the time I remember saying “I feel broken” and it took art to finally heal all the cracks.

  9. March 5, 2012 9:27 pm

    Hi Wendy,
    Looking forward to sharing. I suffered a deep depression a few years ago and I have a lot of material about how God helped me to see beauty in the broken places. I’m so glad I found you through Melody. Maybe one of these days I’ll meet you at Brave Girls Camp. It’s one of my dreams to go. God bless!

Leave a Reply

