Skip to content

the broken places…

February 26, 2012

 

broken places definition

god is near to the broken hearted…

the broken places. yes i remember them. they were not so very long ago and still very fresh in my memory. it’s where my story of beauty began. and it’s where your story can begin too.

it’s out of these broken, dry and vulnerable-raw places that i found beauty. beauty that would spring up despite the circumstances that surrounded me. a beauty that calls to others. a beauty that inspires hope and life and truth and all things good.

this is the beauty that saved me. his beauty. because only he can bring beauty from the ashes. a miracle. healing.

it still baffles my little mind every day. how can something so broken become so beautiful? that is why i can call it a miracle. and that is why i can only give the credit to god. because it was nothing i could have done myself. it has to come from THE source of life.

you all know my story. but i think it’s time now that i invite you to share YOUR STORY. i am developing a new space for all of you to do just this. so start thinking. and i will soon be posting submission guidelines for you if you are interested.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2012 10:12 am

    Hi Wendy,

    Lovely idea! I’ll send some poems for your review when you post your guidelines.

    Thank you, Ellen

  2. February 26, 2012 11:19 am

    What an awesome idea! I know exactly what you are talking about: broken is beautiful, in every sense of the word. Thanks for the beautiful reminder!

    🙂 Molly

  3. elena.pellizzaris@yahoo.com permalink
    February 26, 2012 2:59 pm

    Oh, Wendy. Thank you for being so honest, so transparent; your broken places are BEAUTIFUL and they let the Light shine through, and they are such an encouragement for me to do the same.

    Looking forward to reading your submission guidelines when they’re up. Would love to share a little piece of my story with you as well.

    xo,
    ep.

  4. February 26, 2012 3:37 pm

    Wendy, what an encouraging movement your’re starting! I’ve been trying to visually journal my journey to weight loss success on my blog, and will definitely send along a picture from the process for you to post!

  5. February 26, 2012 6:04 pm

    I am looking forward to seeing the community you will bring together!

  6. ruby jude permalink
    April 12, 2012 3:33 pm

    Yes yes and yes.

  7. February 7, 2013 10:55 am

    Reblogged this on Prayers and Promises and commented:
    Awesome post – finding beauty in the brokenness…

  8. February 8, 2013 4:14 pm

    My story of discovering beauty began with brokeness too. It saved me, and is healing me every day. I picked up a pen, but I’ve also started picking up a camera and a paintbrush. There’s so much beauty to discover every day. Looking forward to reading more of your inspirational posts Wendy.

Trackbacks

  1. healing comes in layers… « a girl and her brush
  2. Journey to me | Rogers Family Blog
  3. dreams do come true « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

