Skip to content

a new way of creating

January 26, 2012

wow friends! i just wanted to stop in and share a video with all of you. i feel like i have been learning a new way to create this week. i recently stumbled upon a video created by melody ross of brave girls club. listening to melody speak in this video has revolutionized the way that i think about creating. she talks about how at least 50 % of her creative work happens in her head and her heart and that she gives herself time to be alone and dream and think. melody also talks about how she NEEDS solitude in order to create.

mixed media collage with stitching

new wings

and i have just been mulling over these ideas and thinking about them. you see, i need solitude but i rarely ever give myself this gift. i have always felt like in order to be successful as a creative person that i needed to do, do, do. that if i wasn’t crossing something off on my to do list, then i wasn’t getting anything done. the problem with thinking like this is that it makes me so unhappy. i hate it!!! it’s not me and it’s not how i create.

so i decided something. from now on i am going to give myself permission to dream and plan and be in solitude so that when i go to physically create something, most of the deep work has already been done. i have decided that it is ok to stop and take the time for my ideas to form in my head before i even take paint to a canvas or write a blog post or an article for a magazine. i have decided that i actually need this time and that the end product will be so much more soul-full because i allowed myself to do this.

i am so excited to see what comes out of this new way of creating. what about you? how do you create?

this video is a part of jeanne oliver’s course creatively made. it looks pretty amazing!!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 4:56 pm

    Wendy!
    I applaud you!
    it is so easy to get caught up in a hurry-scurry timetable.
    it takes courage and exploration to find your own pace and not be driven.

  2. January 27, 2012 4:05 am

    (Visiting from HSHB) I am the same way. I need time and solitude to be able to think, and I need to think to be able to paint, but I often feel guilty when a day goes by and I haven´t done anything that I can show others. It´s good to hear that other people have thougth about this too. From now on I will try not to feel guilty. I do work, it´s just doesn´t look that way!

    • January 27, 2012 7:00 am

      yes it is nice to know we are not alone in this. it is so nice to give ourselves permission to do this. so good!

  3. joanne permalink
    January 27, 2012 4:53 am

    Hi Wendy I am doing that online course with Jeanne and it is a wonderful course.I’m doing yours too and that is wonderful also. Actually I’m also doing one of MeIody’s e-courses too. Just love online classes. It’s a place for me to unwind and create.

    • January 27, 2012 7:01 am

      how funny that you are taking all of those classes joanne! i am sure it is helping you, so why not?

  4. January 27, 2012 6:54 am

    I couldn’t agree more. I sometimes don’t give myself that time though, so its a really important reminder. When I have a creative idea mulling around in my mind I refer to it as “gestating” and when its good and ready it will be born! XO (also visiting for HSHB)

    • January 27, 2012 7:02 am

      thanks for stopping by april. it is so true. i think of it like that too sometimes, being pregnant with an idea. it just takes time to come out.

  5. January 27, 2012 7:06 am

    I can not wait to watch this video – only have time at the moment to read your wonderfully true words – EXACTLY! Giving myself permission to ALLOW and not always have to ‘do’! XOXO

  6. January 27, 2012 7:49 am

    Thank you for posting this Wendy! I felt so connected to what Melody said about needing solitude. And how most of what we create is done internally. Thanks!

  7. January 27, 2012 12:08 pm

    Hi Wendy,

    This is really beautiful. Thank you for sharing this video and your experience. Melody Ross is my new favorite person. She is so real and so honest! Love it!

  8. January 28, 2012 9:45 am

    such a beautiful post. Thank you so much for sharing. I can’t agree more that space and time gives more to our creative soul.

  9. January 28, 2012 11:05 am

    So true! Such a wonderful reminder to us all!

  10. January 30, 2012 1:37 pm

    LOVE this post and the overall truth behind it! Hope, Courage, and following my dreams are two of the awesome themes in my life right now! Great to see people that arelivkng out those things in their lives as well!

Trackbacks

  1. {video} time to breath and taking risks |
  2. on solitude « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

