Skip to content

kicking off my momentum

January 6, 2012
etsy store mixed media

persistance

this year a few things have been rearranging in my brain and my business. a while ago i removed selling prints from my etsy shop. i did this for several reasons. one, it was a big upfront cost to me. two, it took a lot of my time. three, in order to make a profit i had to hike my prices up. this made selling prints something i had a hard time getting excited about.

when you have a hard time getting excited about something it makes business, well, not so much fun. so i had to let go of it for a time until i figured out a better solution. it was choking all the life out of me AND i wasn’t selling anything in etsy because i wasn’t excited about it. my etsy shop was just sitting there going stale like a crusty old piece of bread. so i changed things up and just started selling original pieces.

until very recently when i figured out a way to reduce the cost of my prints. i won’t go into all of the details of how this came to be, but i feel it is pivotal in my business. you see when you are not making enough of a profit, you have to figure out a way to reduce cost or you just won’t make it as a business. it’s either that or raise your prices. what i am the most excited about with this change is the fact that i am not compromising the quality one bit. this is why i was so hesitant in the first place to even find another way to go about making prints. i still wanted a quality product.

so i am excited to announce the price of my prints in my etsy store have reduced considerably. i still have not decided on a final price, but for the month of january they will be $25, down from $40. i think that is a considerable amount of savings. so if you have had an eye on one of my prints, you might want to snatch it up now!

this is all in honor of my word for this year, momentum.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 1:36 am

    thanks for this will take a peek

  2. January 7, 2012 1:01 pm

    You know what I love about this post? It’s that you weren’t willing to compromise on your final product. You knew what you wanted for yourself, and for your buyers. And you weren’t going to settle or change anything till those needs were met.

    We’ve known each other long enough that you know I’m not opposed to higher prices when it comes to art, and that I think more people need to actually do a price increase. But at the same time, I’m not interested in raising prices just to raise them. For me, it’s deeper than that, and has to do more with valuing yourself and the work you do. If you’ve found a way to make a profit at a lower price point, then that’s flat out awesome.

    Go you!

  3. January 8, 2012 7:13 pm

    Interesting post…thanks for your honesty and for sharing your thought process in making this decision! I’ve often wondered about some of these issues when it comes to selling art on sites like Etsy. I will definitely check out your work!

Leave a Reply

