Skip to content

word for 2012

January 5, 2012

word for 2012

i have been debating about this over and over in my head. thinking. planning. scheming. dreaming. rethinking. second guessing. and trying to put my finger on just the right word for this year. last year, my word was healing. a deeply personal and vulnerable word. and it was exactly what i needed. my year was honestly full of healing… mentally, physically, spiritually, financially.

but the word i keep hearing over and over again, especially for my business, is momentum.

i am not sure why i keep returning to this word. but i can’t seem to shake it. not. one. bit.

do you ever have the feeling that life will overtake you and you will ride the wave of momentum? all of the hours of work that have gone before. the blog posts. the putting your heart out there. the teaching. the sweat and tears and telling your story over and over again. the satisfaction that only comes from doing the deep work in your heart that no one else sees except for god. that somehow all of the preparation you have undergone will have been to prepare you for this one moment. that all of the puzzle pieces will start falling into place.

that is exactly how i feel right now standing on the beginning of this year.

like momentum is going to overtake me this year. that the timing is just about perfect for big dreams to be falling into place. that i will see an increase in touching people’s lives. that i will see an increase in income and seriousness as a business. that my art will go from being a hobby to being a successful and fulfilling business.

what i haven’t shared yet is that this completely terrifies me. when i first learned how to ski i remember the fear i felt about going too fast down the hill. yes, i was the one snow plowing the entire way down the mountain. so awkward and clumsy. and i rarely ever speed when i am driving. going fast just scares me. i like to be in control.

it’s somewhat comical that momentum would be my word for this year. maybe this is why i decided to make such big and lofty goals for 2012. i just sense that this is going to be a big year for my business and that i want to reach farther than i ever have before. not that i expect to reach every single goal, but that i want to stretch more than i ever have before. i truly want to keep building momentum in my business and my personal life to see the destiny of my life fulfilled.

what is your word for this year?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2012 8:47 am

    What a great word. I think our words settle on us like this so we know it’s meant to be. Have you linked up with the http://oneword365.com/ community? My word for 2012 is sufficient.

  2. January 5, 2012 8:47 am

    Momentum is a great word for the year. I wish you luck in reaching all your goals, and I hope the momentum doesn’t overtake you, but that you flow with it. 🙂

    I have 2 words for the year, as I was doing projects with each word and felt that I needed to focus on each separately.

    PLAY, because we sometimes work too much and only allow ourselves to play when everything else is done. Play is just as important as work.

    SEEK, because I am always wanting to learn more and see more and feel more and experience more.

    Happy New Year.

  3. January 5, 2012 9:28 am

    Wendy, I think you already know
    that I mark the passing of a year
    from birthday to birthday in November,
    and I chose 2 little words: “just JOY”

    I want to re-claim the JOY I lost or let go of
    and I want more joy in my life!
    It is a BIG deal to put my dreams out there~
    when I write my desires down they become my intentions & goals.
    when I speak about my hope and desires to others
    it creates accountability, connection, & momentum!

    I support your new word!
    It seems that your pursuit of healing has created momentum~

Trackbacks

  1. hello soul, hello business, hello momentum « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

