Skip to content

the year of healing

December 16, 2011

christmas tree

it’s the first day of christmas vacation and the girls and i are snuggled up under a big down blanket in our pj’s watching i want a dog for christmas charlie brown. snoopy flying his dog house always cracks me up! am i the only one?

i love this time of year. i tend to get rather reflective about my year. i slow down and breathe in a lot more. i take more time to enjoy the little things. the quiet moments. i think about what i want to accomplish in the new year with hope and excitement. i try to let go of unrealistic expectations that surround the holidays.

this year has been amazing! not only because of the things i accomplished in my business, but because of the work that was done in my heart. my word for the year was healing. many of you might not know that this is the seventh year after my car accident. when i look back on how far i have come, my heart overflows with gratitude. i never in a million years would have been able to imagine the life i am living now. that something so devastating could bring such great joy and life. it is amazing what can happen when you truly embrace your journey and look for the nuggets of truth that god is trying to teach you through a certain situation.

i started the year out with some not so fun health problems. things that were residual from constantly living in stress. my body was just off track. and i have to say that much of these issues have somehow resolved themselves. it wasn’t an overnight thing. i think i am getting better at taking care of myself. i wouldn’t say that i am completely 100 percent yet, but i am getting there. i have less and anxiety and i am learning to trust god more. i can truly look back on this year and see little milestones of my healing being completed. and i am so grateful.

how about you, do you reflect back on your year and think about all that has transpired?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 10:49 am

    Wendy~
    something I have not yet revealed to you is…
    7 years ago,
    my 3rd child,
    my 21 year old son, Colin,
    died as the result of an automobile accident.
    although our stories differ in many ways,
    there are many similarities.
    Those similarities have drawn us together.
    I have experienced “healing” as a process,
    one that cannot be rushed.
    I love taking your e-course as it is helping me “reclaim joy”.
    I have begun to dabble in COLOUR and texture again.
    I have begun to live my altered life.
    >>>happiest Christmas to you!

    • December 16, 2011 10:55 am

      Wow, Deborah’s comment gave me chills and tears…. amazing.

      I love this…this year has been amazing! not only because of the things i accomplished in my business, but because of the work that was done in my heart.
      Awesome Wendy. Have a beautiful Christmas with your family! xo

    • December 17, 2011 1:34 pm

      wow deborah, thanks so much for sharing this. it always blows me away how simply telling our stories gives other people courage to keep going and tell their own stories.

  2. joanne permalink
    December 17, 2011 3:21 pm

    I have suffered from deep depression over the last 5 years and i think this year has been a year of mixed emotions for me.I realize I cannot change the past but can change my way of dealing with it.I hope that next year I will learn to relax more and be more creative.

    • December 17, 2011 3:28 pm

      i hope so too joanne! blessings to you and baby steps. it took me seven years to really pull out of my stuff. be kind to yourself and start small.

  3. December 19, 2011 7:42 am

    This year has been a crazy busy one! But in a good way… I’m still working on processing it all, truthfully. I’m feeling just …tired… right now, but I’ll get around to posting about my year eventually.

Leave a Reply

