Skip to content

journal challenge days 56 & 57

December 2, 2011

do you ever find yourself in an art journal rut? i do ALL THE TIME!!! whenever i am uninspired, i revert back to what feels the most comfortable. i still like those pages but… every once in a while inspiration does strike and i step out of the box. the first page i am going to share today is what i would consider my “comfort zone”. watercolors, followed by spray inks, brayer and acrylic paint, collage, stitching and a painted design. i guess this is what i call my “go to page”.

the second page though is a major divergence from the norm. i only used collage. and i used all of my oops papers. if you have been art journaling at all, you know exactly what i mean. you leave papers on your art table and somehow they end up with random spray or paint on them. in my case, i use wax paper in between the pages that are still semi-wet. some of the paint inevitably ends on the wax paper. or i use the wax paper as my painting palette. these are some of my favorite papers to collage with. this page started with the magazine picture that says “be well” and just took off from there.

materials used: watercolors, spray inks, stitching, fabric, painted papers, found papers, acrylic paint.

art journal challenge

day 56

materials used: oops papers, magazine picture, watercolors, stitching.

art journal challenge

day 57

 

what’s your “go to page”? do you need to step out of your box?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 6:31 pm

    Love your style.. like u.. i believe art saves and the healing part of art and papercrafting. Love your bright colors! Just saying hi..I will add your blog to my faves page! hugs xo

  2. December 2, 2011 8:29 pm

    My go to page is always paint. Every now and again I try different things, and play, but always it comes back to paint for me.

    I just found you via your Youtube video on Roots of She. I LOVE your pages, and I fell in love with your video.

    🙂

  3. December 3, 2011 6:03 pm

    so u use india ink fr a dropper to write your words? I love the soft effect of them.. they are so so beautiful. xo

    • December 4, 2011 8:20 am

      thank you! yes i use an ink dropper. i like the way that it looks messy and more free with an ink dropper.

Leave a Reply

