Skip to content

30 days of art journal prompts

November 11, 2011

hello friends! i am super excited to share with you a new product today. it’s actually part of my online e-course the altered life, but i thought i would make it available for those of you not wanting to purchase the entire course. it’s 30 days of inspirational art journal prompts all condensed into a pdf. over the years, art has been a huge place of healing for me. in these journal prompts, i share with you stories from my life and revelations that i have had on my own creative journey. i provide prompts and questions to get you started on your own journey of healing.

so if you are stuck when it comes to the journaling part of art journaling, or if you want some inspiration on how to really make art journaling meaningful in your life, then 30 days of art journal prompts are perfect for you. let me share with you day # 1 of my 30 day art journal prompts.

Day # 1

I find that when I am art journaling, I am often giving myself a little pep talk. One of the first paintings I ever painted was titled dear little bird. In the painting I wrote myself words of encouragement. I was not in a very good place when I wrote this, but I was telling myself that things could be different. Here is what i said:

mixed media painting

dear little bird

Tell your heart to beat again. Give yourself permission to grieve. Let go. Release your fears. Breathe deeply. Listen to your heart. Take a risk! Stop looking at the past. Believe in your dreams. Dare to hope again. Let yourself laugh. Find what brings you life. Let God breathe life into your dreams. Be true to who you are. Release your passion. Be still. Don’t be afraid to feel pain. Embrace brokenness. Be vulnerable. Unveil beauty. Allow your dreams to take shape. Surrender your life. You are not in control. Let it go. Trust again. Cultivate faithfulness. Stretch out your wings and fly!

So I want you to imagine that it’s five years from now. Where do you want to be? What do you want to be doing? How do you want to feel? What dream do you want to be living?

Now I want you to think about what is standing in your way right now? fear? uncertainty? lack of direction? closure? taking risks?

With that in mind, I want you to think about being five years in the future and what you would tell yourself right now. What words of encouragement do you need to hear? What do you need to let go of? Do you need to be more gentle on yourself? Do you need to take action?

Now write 3- 5 sentences along those lines on a scrap piece of paper. This is your journal prompt for today.

so there is day 1 of my 30 days of art journal prompts. this would perfect to have if you wanted to take a 30 day art journal challenge and get started creating every day.

so are you ready to take the 30 day art journal challenge with my 30 days of art journal prompts? simply go here for a immediate download of my 30 days pdf for only $15.

don’t forget that my altered life e-course is only $99 until the end of the year. you can join at any time and it’s completely work at your own pace. it would make a perfect christmas present. here is what one of my students had to say about my e-course:

i am so impressed with the Altered Life E-Course!!!   it is FULL of great techniques, examples, ideas,  and  awesome videos~ i just get totally immersed!!  there is waaaaay more content to this course than other’s i have taken!!!   and ~~ there is something to  watching Wendy do her magic, in such a relaxed format, ( she so down to earth)   that gives me confidence that maybe ( just maybe?) i can start creating great pages and backgrounds to express my creative passion.  its a watch, learn, DO!! type of course…

and this is from someone who has actually taken classes from me in person. like i said, this course is packed way more full than the classes i teach locally.

Leave a Reply

