Skip to content

left brain vs. right brain

October 14, 2011
left brain right brain

before & after

i am loving this picture i just found from julie. i feel like this picture could describe my life before and after my brain injury. i am sharing some artwork from before and after my car accident just so you truly see for yourself.

before: detail oriented, follow the rules, all about the end product, meticulous, perfectionistic, can’t make any mistakes, black and white, predictable and boring.

drawing

before

after: messy, free flowing, intuitive, no right or wrong way, all about the process, no such thing as a mistake, spontaneous, colorful and exciting.

art therapy

after

mixed media painting

after

mixed media painting

after

art journal

after

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 11:02 am

    Thank you for sharing the unexpected gifts you received from a brain injury. You give me hope that I will eventually find the beauty in my broken places! Hugs…

  2. October 14, 2011 11:25 am

    wow wendy that is great to see and I don’t think the before is boring at all but I totally get what you mean. so much more fun to create the after way right?

  3. October 14, 2011 11:46 am

    Hi Wendy,

    Thank you for the Posts you are sharing. I had a chronic illness and major surgery when young. Before, I was a professor in education who achieved tenure at a university in Chicago. After, I found my writing voice most often in short poetry forms. My writing style changed a lot. The simple way I live now keeps me well.

    Love your art! Have just begun to color again. Blessings, Ellen

  4. bethsciallo permalink
    October 15, 2011 11:07 am

    TRANSFORMATION!! from reproducing to interactive creativity. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

