Skip to content

a new direction

September 20, 2011
etsy store

new items for sale in etsy store

i have been struggling for a while with my etsy store and exactly what i want to sell there. i feel like i had great success in the early part of opening my etsy store. it was exciting and fun. but i slowly lost interest and confidence. and it started to show in my sales.

etsy store

new item on sale in my etsy store

i felt like having every piece i ever painted on sale was just a little too much. i needed to edit more to make my store seem more cohesive and my brand more true to me. and especially when my style really started changing, i really didn’t want to have anything to do with etsy. but it was a hard thing to let go of. i had invested so much time, energy and money into selling prints of my original artworks. it was really difficult for me to just start from scratch. i am sure you can understand that.

etsy store

rainbow card in etsy store

and on top of that, i felt that it was unprofessional of me to keep selling certain prints. you see when i started out i used papers in my artwork that were questionable and most likely copyrighted. it was innocent at the time because i really did not know. but now, i know better and can just not justify selling those prints. i now only use my own painted papers in all of my work or vintage books and vintage letters. i feel better knowing that there is nothing questionable about these papers. and i love the fact that what i create is more of my work not someone else’s.

etsy store

stitched card for etsy

then i started using stitching in a lot of my artwork. enter new problem into the equation. i love the stitching. but i am pretty sure that scanning a piece that has stitching in it will just not be as beautiful as the original.

etsy store

new item in etsy store

so these are all reasons for the change in direction with my etsy store. i will be selling lots of original cards, original stitched watercolors and canvas originals. i love the simplified look and i hope others will too. i feel as if a huge weight has been lifted and that i will actually start enjoying my etsy store again.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 10:53 am

    Good for you, Wendy! I haven’t stopped by in a while and I’ve gotta say, I LOVE your new direction. This flowers with the chevron stripes are great ans the feather is incredible. Way to go! I’m off to check out the newly renovated shop 🙂

  2. Carol permalink
    September 20, 2011 11:18 am

    I LOVE your new direction. We definitely grow and change and it is always refreshing to see that happen with fellow artists.

  3. September 20, 2011 2:07 pm

    I love your new direction, too! It definitely feels more “Wendy”, and I have to commend you on your integrity. It really shows your growth as an artist!

  4. September 20, 2011 3:10 pm

    very cool!

  5. September 20, 2011 10:28 pm

    I really love the leaf picture – love your use of stitching and collage in those pieces. All the best with your shop.

  6. October 3, 2011 8:17 am

    Awesome stuff, Wendy. Really cool, divergent work. Keep it up.

  7. October 3, 2011 8:18 am

    In fact, that feather is now mine!

  8. October 14, 2011 11:30 am

    in a word… love. off to check out the revamped shop. xo

Trackbacks

  1. copyright as an invitation for creativity… « a girl and her brush

Leave a Reply

