Skip to content

studio before & after

September 9, 2011

don’t you just love the fall? there is an excitement in the air as the days become crisp. i feel like i can think more clearly without fatigue from the heat. along with the fall comes a desire for me to get organized.

studio before & after

studio before (this was even after cleaning)

i have been trying to clear all of the clutter out of my life after having a crazy busy summer. my studio was seriously trashed from weeks of creating. and i felt like the little organization i had was just not working for me anymore. my studio is fairly small, so when the clutter builds up you can’t walk into the room. it was to the point where i didn’t want to create because there was just stuff everywhere. i was literally living, or should i say creating, out of my suitcase. i have to pack everything up once a week to take to my class. so the supplies literally end up all over the place.

studio before & after

studio after

i needed a place to put my supplies back when i got home from teaching, besides the floor. when you have a small space the smartest option is to go up. this maximizes what little area you have. i already had shelves up on my wall, but i needed something more on my working level to store the supplies that i use every day. that is when i found these awesome vintage crates on craigslist. major score!

studio before & after

studio after

studio before & after

my thread looks like an art installation

i love how the crates added some warmth to my studio. not to mention that they are perfect for organizing my supplies.

studio before & after

love how adding a banner makes my sewing station happy

studio before & after

layering books and vintage items

studio before & after

love how the banner adds pops of color against the wood

i am seriously in love with my studio now. i didn’t want to go to bed last night i was so excited. i just sat in there staring at how awesome it looked. now i am ready to face the fall and winter with a new sense of focus. i can’t wait to get creating!

studio before & after

painting station

studio before & after

paintbrushes

studio before & after

vintage crates

where women create

stacked books

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2011 12:01 am

    What inspiration – it looks fantastic. As soon as the heat drops you’ve inspired me to go and do something to my studio which is quite a bit messier than yours, what with fabric and buttons everywhere.

  2. karin permalink
    September 10, 2011 1:53 am

    studio looking fab – love the bunting. Please do not forget to notify us when you run an e class.

  3. joanne permalink
    September 10, 2011 4:17 am

    What great crates you got,and love your art work you have put up.

  4. September 12, 2011 5:38 pm

    Love the organization. Wish I could apply it to my own creative space.

  5. September 13, 2011 8:08 am

    so cute wendy!

Leave a Reply

