Skip to content

the count down is on…

July 27, 2011

mixed media painting

hello dear friends… my heart did a little thumpity thump yesterday when i was looking at my calendar. exactly one week from today i will be hanging my show.

now how did time go by so fast?

i am more than excited. i am ecstatic. going crazy. running around painting and stitching and making a huge mess.

if you were to look into my studio you would think a tornado had blown through it.

i am neglecting everything else including this blog. sorry friends but you gotta do what you gotta do.

i am trying desperately not to freak out and take care of myself. it really didn’t hit home until today that it really was so close. it has always seemed so far away.

on top of that, the new sewing machine that my mom gave me (which by the way does amazing things) is not working currently. so all the stitching i have to add to cards and paintings is being put on hold. i am hoping my mom can help with that one soon.

so dear ones, if you don’t see me around in the next week or so, know where i am. slaving away on paintings and cards and all such beauty that goes into a show. i will be relieved when it is friday, august 5 and there is nothing left to do but breathe it all in and enjoy everything about the experience. which i plan on doing to the fullest. your first real solo art show only comes around once. and  it has all fallen into place so magically.

p.s. can i just say my little girl starts kindergarten next week? crazy!!! she is beyond ready. it will just be hard on me the crazy parent. i always think back on my days on teaching kindergarten and really just think i had absolutely no idea the difficulty for parents letting go of their kids for three hours a day to a complete stranger. yes i am one of those. so think of me next tuesday while i am crying watching the independence of my more than competent five year old. then pray for me as i spend the whole afternoon with my four year old.

p.s.s. thank god that my four year old still takes naps in the afternoon.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 8:23 pm

    my girl starts kindergarten this year too! Congrats on your upcoming show; I know you will bless many with your work…

  2. July 27, 2011 8:24 pm

    you are going to be great and BLESS MANY with your work. Well done!

  3. ann dickey permalink
    July 27, 2011 8:50 pm

    oh no the magic sewing machine is kaput!! drat!! such bad timing… hopefully your mom will come to the rescue.
    i am bringing a friend with me on on monday night! her name is dayna and she is a hoot.
    btw… have you thought about maybe taking a BYE ( aka canceling art therapy night)
    this week on as you have your show on friday? just a thought? we would all understand!!! kindergarten and first solo art shows are BIG milestones… don’t want you to be burned out. then you would have no fun at all….
    let me know… i plan on attending the show on friday!!

    • July 27, 2011 8:57 pm

      beautiful lady, you are soooo sweet. i am looking forward to monday night so not a chance that i will be canceling. i really am ready for the show. i already have a lot done but i just always want more. this is why it is a good thing that i have an deadline because i would just keep going, lol!

  4. joanne permalink
    July 27, 2011 10:55 pm

    Good luck with it all.I wish I could be there.Don’t forget to take lots of photos to show us,even a video if you can sneak that in.I know how you feel about letting go of the little one starting school,I went through it 4 times.Take care.

  5. karin permalink
    July 28, 2011 12:51 am

    Congrats on your show …. another step taken towards your dreams …….. thanks for sharing and inspiring and encouraging us to journey towards dreams of our own.

  6. July 28, 2011 9:22 am

    WOOHOO! Congratulations, friend! Take lots of photos for us who are there with you in spirit. You deserve this!

  7. July 28, 2011 11:06 am

    How very exciting! Smile, Breathe, Go Slowly and all will be well. Your new kindergartener will do fantastic as will you on your first solo show:) Congrats and many Blessings.

  8. July 28, 2011 11:11 am

    Congratulations on your show. VERY exciting and a special experience.

    Yolanda
    A new follower from 365 Genius

Leave a Reply

