Skip to content

surreal moments

July 7, 2011

i had a few yesterday.

the journal published in this issue of art journaling

i was standing in line at barnes and noble waiting to buy the current issue of art journaling. nothing can describe the pride and joy i felt knowing that my art was on the cover of this magazine. it was amazing! god even sent me a friendly stranger to celebrate with me as i stood in line. he approached me and asked what art journaling was and that opened the conversation for me to share my accomplishment with him. he was so excited for me and i didn’t even know him. it made the moment that much more special.

thank you dear stranger for celebrating with me. for witnessing the weight of this dream for me. you made my day.

my journal published in art journaling

i was speaking at a support group for brain injury victims. i opened my life to share my story with others who have walked in the same places i have walked. i shared my passion for art and how my life has been transformed. there was a moment when someone commented on how i was able to turn my trauma into something positive. and to stop and truly reflect on how far i have come, i was truly blown away.

i am no longer the victim. all of those difficult moments when i thought my life would always be stuck in heartache and loss seem so far away now.

my journal page that made the cover

it truly is AMAZING how far i have come.

to be truly grateful, that is the biggest accomplishment. even more powerful than being on the cover of a magazine.

kelly rae said it perfectly the other day. we tell our stories, sometimes over and over until the agony lifts and the lessons and joys are found.

somewhere in the midst of telling my story, i found healing.

journal pages

somewhere in the midst of painting my life, i found hope and a new beginning.

and the biggest miracle of all happened.

i let go of the past. i wrote a new story where those heartaches and agonies became my badges of honor.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 12:02 pm

    Congrats

  2. July 7, 2011 2:55 pm

    You are such an inspiration…I love your art!!

  3. July 7, 2011 5:28 pm

    Perfectly worded! Amen!

    I purchased my copy of the magazine a few days ago, and am so proud to say that I know the girl whose work is featured on the cover!:-)

  4. July 7, 2011 8:59 pm

    That’s awesome Wendy! I was just going to ask if it was on sale yet. I’m going to go get mine tomorrow! 🙂

  5. joanne permalink
    July 7, 2011 10:28 pm

    Congratulations Wendy.You have been an inspiration to alot of people,including myself.Love your work.Joanne

  6. July 7, 2011 11:09 pm

    Okay, how awesome was that guy?? I’m smiling just hearing about it!! Congrats to you!

  7. ann dickey permalink
    July 8, 2011 9:38 pm

    what an amazing story….. i am so happy for you!!! i am buying my copy for my ride up to Breckenridge!!!

    • July 9, 2011 8:29 am

      oh friend, thanks so much. i can’t wait until you can make it to art therapy nights. we will have so much fun. 🙂

  8. July 9, 2011 11:29 am

    Awesome story, Wendy. I have been reading your blogs for a little while now and this one feels like it came from the very depth of your soul!

Leave a Reply

