Skip to content

i’m back

July 5, 2011

yes it’s true. i know i took a little breather last week. sometimes you just need those moments. time to clear your head so you can keep going. gain perspective. listen. breathe. reevaluate and come back stronger.

my fourth included a lot of this…

Wildflowers Crested Butte

wildflowers Crested Butte

wildflowers Crested Butte

and this…

and yes i know that i live in one of the most beautiful states ever. besides the five hour drive with the munchkins, numerous potty stops and car sickness, it truly was perfect weekend.

just what i needed to hit the ground running today. i am speaking at a support group for brain injury victims tomorrow. i need to get ready for next monday and my first ever art therapy night. finish getting ready for my two shows in august. and my copy of art journaling should get here any day now. eeeeeee!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. joanne permalink
    July 6, 2011 2:44 am

    Good luck with your talks.What a lovely scene.Thanks for sharing.

  2. July 7, 2011 7:16 pm

    This video was a joy to watch! Relaxing with wonderful music and art!

  3. sara permalink
    July 15, 2011 4:06 pm

    I’m a Colorado girl, too! 🙂 Where did you go? I love this state… I’m a native and I just can’t imagine living anywhere else. So in love with your journal. I especially love the cover 😉 I like that you used a Barney book. I’m curious – did you glue pages together to make them strong enough to hold all the wet media? I’m new to this and still learning!

    • July 16, 2011 10:41 am

      hi sara! we went to crested butte. so gorgeous. i live in colorado springs, but i went to college in greeley. thanks for your kind words. i used a barney book because i hate barney. i am planning on decorating the cover, just haven’t gotten around to it yet. i used to glue my pages together, but i stopped. the reason i don’t do it anymore is because i like to stitch on my pages and if i glue them together it is too thick for my sewing machine to go through. but if you want sturdier pages, then i recommend gluing them. i usually just put a good coat of gesso on my pages and that seems to help the water based products stick better. even though i am using watercolors and water based inks, i usually blot them a lot so they are not super wet. it is funny because i actually started out with acrylics in my art journals but now enjoy more water based products because of the movement and the way that they dry so quickly. when i use acrylics, my journal gets too bulky and takes forever to dry. hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

