Skip to content

the speaking engagement

June 16, 2011

altered book

as i walked into the room full of strangers, a perplexed and nervous feeling came over me. i glanced around the room to notice that most of my audience were all seasoned watercolor artists. most of them had probably been painting for years. they had the experience that i did not. i have only been painting for maybe three years. what could i possibly say that would inspire and teach them? i probably could have learned something from all of them. i felt a little like a fish out of water.

it was then that i heard a whisper. do not be intimidated by your youth.

yeah tell that to my nerves. it wasn’t the first time i had shared my story or my art with other people. but it was the first time that i had shared with a room full of artists.

it was so easy to second guess myself in that very moment. what did i have to share that was so amazing? who was i to demo techniques to them?

and when it was finally my turn to share, i felt like the words would not come out of my mouth. i had practiced what i wanted to say a few times over the last few days. why did the words not want to come out? could my mouth seriously be any drier? water please!

but somewhere between talking about my car accident and my business, i finally found my flow. and my story and art came spilling out. it felt natural and freeing. and my confidence began to build. maybe i did have something to offer these artists. maybe i was enough.

it was all such a huge confirmation to me. i am doing what i am meant to do. and i love it. i loved to see eyes light up and people being inspired. i loved sharing my passion with other people. i do have a story to tell. and my story does matter.

the kind words i received after i spoke were like little gifts. one by one they came to connect with me and my story. and i soaked up all of those sweet words.

it was a truly lovely experience. and i shall take with me a little more confidence and a little more joy. i am truly grateful that i get to live this beautiful life.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 11:12 am

    That’s awesome Wendy! Way to be brave 🙂

  2. June 16, 2011 3:37 pm

    Stop and be still for one moment… listen… can you hear me clapping loudly and screaming “Yeah Wendy!!!!” I am soooooo excited for you.

  3. joanne permalink
    June 16, 2011 9:41 pm

    I have always taught my kids that when someone has a story to tell, always listen cause you never know what you can learn from it.I’m so sure that those people you spoke to have walked away with inspiration,hope acceptance and love.I’m also sure that you walked away with just as much if not more.Keep up with the fantastic work.

  4. June 19, 2011 11:07 am

    You ARE doing what you’re meant to be doing, friend, and I’m so glad that you found your flow! You’re so much more courageous than me – public speaking is totally terrifying!!

  5. June 19, 2011 6:29 pm

    Thanks so much for telling us all about your special presentation! I knew you’d do great, that you’d make a significant impact on those with whom you shared your story…I’m so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

