Skip to content

slowing down to be grateful

May 20, 2011

mixed media painting

the back door is open and the breeze is saying hello. it’s been raining all day. i know this will be good for my garden. there is the soothing sound of cars whizzing by. the girls have made a make-shift fort under the table and i don’t have the heart to tell them no. i have this one part of me that wants order, every thing in it’s place including the chairs. but then there is the other side of me that wishes freedom for their play. so i let it go on. pausing when i need to discipline. i have been working on that. it is so easy to fly away with my temper.

i am slowing down to take care of my body and rest. not much has really changed in our day to day activities. i am just trying to rest more in my mind. to breathe. i don’t know if that makes sense. to stop and smell the rain. i am learning how to be grateful. i wish i could say it came easily. but it doesn’t. it’s a battle every day.

it’s raining again. and i can hear the sound of birds singing their love songs. they must be singing to their creator. besides the laughter of a child, is there anything more beautiful? i can’t think of anything at the moment.

i am thankful for the rain that will water the earth and my seeds. i am thankful for the love songs. i am thankful that i can be content in this very moment. that i don’t have to wish it away.

gratitude is a discipline.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 11:23 am

    Yes… a moment to reflect & be grateful!
    A restful soul is a must, allows your growth. :]

  2. May 20, 2011 2:30 pm

    Sometimes slowing down is exactly what you need.

  3. May 23, 2011 11:15 am

    Lovely, thought-provoking post! I am glad you’re taking time to slow down a bit and rest…our bodies and minds need that from time to time in order to regenerate and rejuvenate our creativity.

    I wanted to tell you that I’ve been toying with the idea of adding some video posts to my blog. Your vlogs been a huge inspiration, and have convinced me that an artist (and her art) sometimes needs to be presented in a more authentic, live, face-to-face manner. I’ve experimented with my digital camera, and found that shooting video and then uploading it to my blog definitely can be done…even by me, an avowed technophobe who a year ago would have laughed if anyone said I’d be thinking about vlogging right now…thanks again for your inspiration!

    • May 23, 2011 11:19 am

      yay! i am so glad to hear it. can’t wait to see your vlogs jennifer!!! when i first started blogging i was terrified of video taping myself, but it gets easier as you go. trust me. you just have to do it.

Leave a Reply

